Daintree Rainforest food garden, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 447 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    77  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello my name is Toon and I live in the Daintree Rainforest on a residential 1 hectare property situated just north of Cow Bay and 20km south of Cape Tribulation. I have a little rainforest home nestled on a hill with new and expanding gardens spread below and beside my dwelling. My food forest was started in 2013 with the assistance of some awesome Volunteers

    most of the work is in the garden. There is always lots of digging, weeding and mowing to be done.
    Volunteers get cuts, spikes and blisters and can walk away with hardened calloused hands. (which they seem to be quite proud of). They sweat and are sometimes tired to the bone. Australia is hot, the tropics is hotter and I set a good pace, the work can be challenging, most rise to the occasion and shine. Take note, the work at times is tough beside me and it may really test some of you. I ask for four good hours a day.
    There is a small variety of work clothes. I supply some gumboots sizes and all gloves.

    This year I am building a carport. I am looking for strong boys who will work with me concreteing and building. You do not need any expereince just a good attitude and lots of energy

    I am also looking for an independent girl to help with watering and harvesting of my garden. There are some light duties cleaning and mending as well.

    I live a very low footprint existence. I have few electronics, no TV, no phone. I ask that all phones, computers and other electronic equipment remain off whilst in my home. There is limited reception here but perfect reception on adjoining properties, I however live without this connection to the world. It is a chance for you to have a break from electronics and connect with something different. I am restricted in power with a small solar system. I live a simple existence, visitors are asked to do the same and be frugal and gentle on my limited resources.
    My domestic water source is from the roof and is chemical free and clean. There are no chemicals in my home and few in my life. I ask that you ‘consider’ abstaining from your array of personal chemicals whilst here as well. It could be a time to cleanse and perhaps it may add to the experience. No sunscreens are permitted in my home, in my garden and in my creeks.

    The meals are largely vegetable based. You may eat tropical foods not experienced before. I serve three good hearty and healthy meals per day. In between the meals there is often fruit salad or banana smoothies (a volunteer favorite). My young but growing food forest is organic, minerally enriched, energizing, cleansing and building. I live mostly from my garden and local area. I try to put as much tropical fruit and vegetables that is in season on the table. We have a bit of fun collecting fruits. I hunt, my hunted game is the only meat I eat, usually wild pork or kangaroo cooked on the fire, once every couple of weeks or so. I do not like to eat much meat but at times my body tells me I need a little. The time in between is all vegetarian. I think all the vegetarians and vegans have eaten my clean fire cooked game.

    Standard agreement, five days work, two days on me. If you survive the first week then on your two days I generally leave you to do your own thing, go exploring to the places of your interest or sit back on the veranda and watch the odd ship go by. There is an excellent two-three hour creek hike that starts just a couple of minutes away. The local swimming spot is just minutes down the road. The jungle escapades start at the gate, if you choose to embrace what is available.

    If you stay a second week then we start adventuring. There are a number of things we can do and I may take you to locations that few locals and fewer tourists will ever see. The longer you stay the bigger the adventures we go on. Read the reviews,

    I have a sense of humour and don’t take life to seriously. I like light hearted people who can laugh and chill. Boys have stayed for three months, girls have stayed for three months, some have returned a few times now.
    I like those who practice yoga or Ti Chi and who would like to join me or teach me more. I also like to meditate to sooth my soul. I often play music loud when we are working but enjoy the evenings quiet. We watch stars, read and listen to the quiet, until some silly rainforest bird squarks, then it is back to the silence.

    There is no alcohol nor smoking nor drugs permitted on my property.
    Occasionally though a little wine is spilt. I often take volunteers to the pub on a Friday night to meet the locals and to have a couple of drinks with my mates.

    There is a bus service that runs from Cairns (Trans North) it can drop you off close to my home at the Cowbay Hotel. My communications are limited. I am slack, dysfunctional and forgetful. I often go deep into my forest for days at a time. It can take me a week to access internet, so if you are interested please be patient for my response. Writing me and telling me you are in Cairns and willing to start the next day will seldom work.












    travel safe

    Toon



  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is a chance to escape from all that real world stuff and chill out, connect with self, connect with earth and mabey connect with me. Switching off the electronics for a while has had a profound effect upon a few of my guests.
    Some helpers come here to challenge themselves and push themselves physically and mentally.
    Many Volunteers have now completed a three day complete fast whilst here,
    I have been damaged, this life I engage keeps me going, keeps me healthy, the foundation of my existence is hard work.
    I like to play hard so if you have an adventure spirit and are good to me I can show you a forest few get to see
    I like to rest hard and try to live my life with a calm mind, a few have come here seeking to calm things down
    you might get 'something' out of your time here, it depends upon you.

    I can show you a few things about tropical gardening, although I am still learning myself.

  • Help

    Help


    There is lots of garden work and this can be physically demanding.
    The routine jobs are weeding mulching, mowing. These are the jobs volunteers start with.
    Tasks may also include digging, harvesting, planting, nursery work, watering, building and painting. I am also keen for carpentry, electrical, motor mechanics and sewing skills. However everyone here starts with manual labour.
    The Garden is taking second place to construction this year, so we will still be working in the garden but emphasis is on building and concreting 

    I have had a number of girls who have stayed a while now and I am enjoying the exchange. So if you are an independent girl, who decides to hang here for a while, your jobs will be watering, harvesting, feeding you I and at times others and tending to lighter work, whilst I address my construction projects

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (fairly badly)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is basically an open veranda over looking food gardens, the property is shrouded by forest, with neighbours houses calling distance away. Birds fly inside during the day and little micro bats fly inside at night. Kids have found small snakes in their bathroom bags when they forget to zip them shut. sometimes a friendly python hanging from the rafters may watch you shower . Helpers have private rooms and utilities downstairs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I would really like you to take some time and make a USB stick with Music on it. Spotify and the like do not work here and it frustrates me when the volunteers have great music that I cannot access once they have left. If you could also put photos of your home, family, school, bike, grandma, gardens, uncles shed, the pony club, architecture, streets etc whatever. This is a cultural exchange, I want to see where and how you live as well. You always have time before you arrive to organize this. There is no internet on my property, no phones, no spotify, no apps, no nothing. Music and photos on a USB stick. If you are not carrying photos of this nature then get Mum or sister to load them into Cyber space and then transfer them to a USB. If you have a favorite movie or two then load those up as well. A movie night is appreciated after a while of no screens. Simple and if you read my reviews you will know how much it means to me. Those who take the time to do this and share their life get an expereince here where I share things in return.

    You will need a torch, no phones volunteers so you will need a torch. They cost five dollars at a hardware or camping shop. Many kids wish they had got a headlight torch once here. there are many night things to do and being hands free at night is essential.
    yes you can turn your phones on and take photos and videos
    travel safe

    Toon

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 hours a day 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












































Host ref number: 737978185496