Small Eco farm with Icelandic horses in a very beautiful spot close to National Park the Veluwe, Holland



Favourited 404 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Please read ALL, and check our availability at the calendar :-)

    Do you smoke? --> Please skip our page.
    Do you like it to buy meat, for a little price? --> Please skip our page.
    Are you not able to always be respectful and follow the guidelines of your host? --> Please skip our page.

    I almost (ALMOST ;-) ) want to apologize for my strict profile, but as we've had a couple of just time-consuming experiences, and I even have kicked-out somebody after just a couple of hours being in our house, because of disrespecting one of our animal-rules that I was very clear about...... I just really want to find only the right matches and not again spend time and effort in welcoming somebody, to eventually have no help and joy of it at all, it just leaves me with taken away my time and energy (which is already limited) and more work (which I already have enough).

    So if you have any doubts or questions about you fitting here after reading our profile, please just skip our place or contact me about it.
    If you are the right person(s), it really can be a great experience for both of us.


    We (2 girls) are living with our animals in our old farmhouse surrounded by beautiful nature. We own 7 Icelandic horses (mares and foals), 6 Hampshire Down sheep, 2 dogs (Dalmatian and Doberman), 2 cats and 4 chickens (Orpingtons).

    Basically it's me (Tamar) doing the work on the farm during the day and my partner (Chantal) is working full-time (HR system specialist) in Arnhem.

    We live here now for about 3 years, and have loads of little projects going on, and still nothing really works like it should. So there will be many things you can do, up to your own interest.
    We try to do everything ECO friendly and also we don't buy "animal protein" and limited (organic) dairy.

    So if you like nature and animals, you probably will love our place.

    Please note:
    We prefer Vegetarians or Vegans

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    First of all, I'm not that "standard" person to be around. I'm a 34 y.o. women who thinks she can do everything herself.. Yeah, really. Unfortunately sometimes I get to the reality that I'm only 1 person and I cannot keep up with all my expectations and wishes to do in 1 day.....
    So who wants to get inspired and help out for a couple of hours a day?

    I am easy going, but no-nonsense. The time I work, I work hard and I expect the volunteer to do as well.
    Also I'm not the person that deals with bullshit, so I can be very strict and straightforward too. You might learn something from it ;-)

    For the stables we are using an ECO-system, so the muck of the horses and sheep will end-up in the fields or vegetable garden.

    We are growing the vegetables all organic. But just started 2 years ago, so I'm still experimenting.

    Although surrounded by nature, luckily the shops and restaurants are not that far!
    There are shops (supermarkets/drugsstore/etc.) within 10 minutes by car.
    We could go there together or maybe you could borrow our bike/car (we decide this individually).
    There are also different restaurants to reach within 10 minutes. Of course I could recommend you some :-)

    For more specific shopping (like clothes) or a large variety of restaurants there are a couple of town's/city's within 20-30 minutes from here. Some are also nice to just make a visit and look around.

    Horseback riding in your free time is possible ONLY if you are an experienced rider and weighing not more that 75kg.
    Our horses are very friendly and easy to be around with, but they are not "riding school" horses. They have a lot of power and special "gears", so inexperienced riders will ruin their training level (and might fall off).
    Having experienced to ride a horse a couple of times, doesn't make you an experienced rider ;-)

  • Help


    Life on a farm is beautiful, but it's not a fairytale ;-)
    It's hardwork (physical) too (of course we will see for each person individually what you can and cannot physically do).

    We won't ask you to work your ass off.. But we do expect a good attitude and proper help to be done in return for the stay with us and all the things I am willing to learn you about the farm and animals.

    The tasks can be very versatile, so probably it would be best if you know how to hold and use a tool (from ring spanner to shovel, from broom to pallet truck).
    If you are experienced with it, you may even do some tractor work on our compact John Deere tractor.

    Because I do everything myself, I mostly won't have 5 hours for you. But I can use a helping hand here and there to take some load of my shoulders, like:

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Help with the animals (cleaning poop from stables and paddocks/feeding/refill water)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Taking care of the organic/ECO vegetable garden (watering, picking weeds, filling planters, etc.)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Other plant/garden stuff (rearranging the fields/picking weeds/cutting woods)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ A lot of other stuff around the barns to get it more tidy step by step
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Cooking our meal if you like it (we don't! So we'll really appreciate nice vegetarian or vegan meals)

    The tasks we have is not too much horse tasks, mainly al kind of tasks in and around the barn/garden. But the dogs, horses and sheep will be somewhere around and keep us company.

    Sometimes we could do some work together, but mainly the tasks will be better to do individually (or with your partner).

    Last year we had our first experiences with workaway volunteers. Some very good, and some very... "special" ;-)
    To find the persons that will be a good match here, we've listed some criteria.

    We would like you to have the following qualities:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Independent (mostly there is someone around but we don't spend time together all day)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Sense of responsibility (care for what you do, and treat it like it's yours. don't think "she will do it" and leave the task without further care and communication)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Good communication skills (please always let us know things like: what tasks have you (not) finished today? do you have questions? when will you not be home? where will you be going?)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Not afraid to ask (better ask 5 times instead of doing a task wrong and make it more work than it should. that's a waste of time)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Reliable (be trustworthy: you respect our rules, what you say is what you do and you don't make things look more nice then they are)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Work hard/energetic (of course you can take it easy and do things relaxt. I want to give all the space to let you do what feels good and to enjoy your time as much as possible. Just consider that doing 3 hours a job in a very slow and relaxed way (and not getting a lot done), is not really equal to 3 hours of work...)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Eye for details
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Understand that cleaning the kitchen, dishwasher, etc. is not only our job; if we share the house, we share this tasks too.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Understand that our homegrown fruits and vegetables are our treasures of the year. So if you are the lucky one to come here during "picking season", please don't pick anything from the garden without asking.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have 1 spare bedroom in our house which you can use.
    Our house is old and simple, and a bit messy because our priorities are always on the animals and farm ;-)

    We offer a simple stay with no food included if you just work 3 hours a day.
    Of course if there is a lot to do for you and you do the 5 hours help, food will be included.

    It could be possible to bring your pet (contact us about it).

    We are friendly and can have a good laugh, but on the other hand we can be calm/quiet and go to bed early (maybe after falling asleep in front of the TV). So please be independent, bring your laptop/book/whatever, enjoy yourself and don't expect us to chat with you all evening. Of course you are welcome to sit with us, just also be relaxt.

    In the house we have WiFi you can use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a very beautiful spot close to National Park the Veluwe, where you can walk/hike, bike, horseback ride, ...
    City's Arnhem, Apeldoorn and Zutphen are all reachable within 20-30 minutes.
    We decide individually if you can borrow our car, bike or motorbike if we not use them ourselves (of course you need your driver's license ;) )

    If you are an experienced rider/trainer you could ride our Icelandic horses also without our supervision (max. weight 75kg).

    From Amsterdam Airport train station to "Brummen" train station takes about 2 hours, and I will pick you up from there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours no food included

Host ref number: 737441326259