Help needed on our cattle property located on the mid-North Coast of New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    181

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear Workawayers,

    I would like a keen happy person, to join me (& my grown children occasionally) at my cattle property located on the Mid North Coast of New South Wales, Australia.

    The property is set amongst beautiful mountainous hills abundant with Australian wildlife and sits on the George's Creek which joins the larger Macleay River just down the road.
    At this Junction we run a camping ground which attracts people from all over the world because of the stunning location and local activities including fishing, canoeing, bushwalking, birdwatching, and simply relaxing and getting away from it all!

    We also provide tourist accommodation in rustic huts located on the river which are very popular because of the beautiful setting and privacy.

    My property produces beef cattle, so we are frequently getting out on horseback up the river and into the mountains to check on them and care for them.

    My property is very remote & located 88km (about 1.5 hours drive) from the town of Armidale & Around 96km (about 2 hours drive) from the town of Kempsey (New South Wales).
    We go into Armidale once a fortnight to go shopping & buy supplies, etc.

    Cheers, Neil

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will be speaking English, gaining experience in working with cattle and riding and caring for horses.

    Experience the wonderful Australian lifestyle.

    Recreational activities include swimming, fishing (Australian Bass, trout, mullet, catfish, eels), bushwalking, canoeing, bird watching, four wheel driving, mountain climbing, mountain biking, etc.

    It is a wonderful place to relax, read, write, study and simply wind down.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Ideally we would love to host an older person (no one straight out of school) able to help out on the property, including some cattle mustering on horseback (some riding experience preferred)
    building, fencing, and general help around the property.

    Must have drivers license or motor bike license / experience.

    Preferably non-smokers.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will stay either at the main house or in one of the huts located nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, average of 4 days a week


Host ref number: 736235945657