1 / 5

Experience life with an Italian family in Verona, Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 14 times
  • Last activity: 1 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    We are a family from Verona, in the North of Italy. We are two professionals (Giovanni, a physician, and Paola, a tax consultant) and we have three kids (7, 6, 6 y.o.). We also have a one year-old regular schnauzer, Brulè, that lives with us. We live in a small single house with a garden, in the immediate outskirts of Verona. In november a fourth child will arrive and we'll need all the help we can get ;-). We'd like to have someone who can help Paola while she's at home with the child, 'cause she'll have to work anyway, looking after the baby and the house, with basic houseworks: we already have a girl that comes from time to time to help with the house and a babysitter for the other children, so the workawayer won't have all the duties on his/her shoulders.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are "local" people since we were both born in Verona and have almost always been living in Verona, so on one hand we can tell a lot of stories about our hometown and cook local dishes. On the other hand, we are also very "international", since we spent our young adulthood traveling a lot (Giovanni speaks French and Paola speaks German too). We speak English every day (also with the kids!) and we see movies and TV shows from other countries. And we can cook foreign delicatessen too!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need different types of help, both short and long-term.
    SHORT-TERM: We need help with the garden: We have approximately 30 wood logs to chop for the stove and a similar amount of smaller pieces to cut and pile up. We have both a chainsaw (electric) and ax/hatchet. We don't have time to do the job but we need to clear the backyard, is anybody interested in staying in Verona for a week for free while helping us with that? There are no strict rules about when and how the job should be completed: the time frame is approximately one week and the chopping and piling up should be done properly and without hurting anybody (!), especially the workawayer him/herself. Please do not come if you have never done this job before. It's tiring and it needs at least a little bit of training and expertise. We have no time to teach the workawayer the job, he/she should already know what to do and how. We provide the tools and the material, in addition to room and food, of course!

    LONG-TERM: Our kids are Emilia and Irene, 6-year-old twins, and Niccolò, our 7-year-old little man. At this age, kids still need a bit of assistance and a lot of....washing machines! They already have a babysitter for many afternoons and there is a housekeeper that comes a couple of hours twice a week to do the main houseworks.
    With the arrival of the newborn (mid November), we expect to need more help with the everyday-life (laundry machines, keeping the kitchen clean, tidying up..). Nothing different from what everybody does at his/her own home.
    Paola will have to work anyway, from home, since she'a a freelance with no other help at work, so we'll need someone reliable that could look after the child should Paola be right in the middle of a work-meeting online.
    We are looking for an English-speaking person (possibly mother-tongue or very fluent), so that the other children can improve their language and learn other cultures when they come at home at the end of the day. The longer the workawayer could stay, the better for us.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are interested in letting the children learn English while speaking it in our everyday life. Adults both know a couple of foreign language (Paola speaks german, Giovanni speaks french).

  • Accommodation


    We moved last summer to the hills at 15 mins from the historic center of Verona. The children and us sleep in two rooms, then there are a small laundry room, a big livingroom, a big kitchen and finally a spare big room that we are hoping will host our Workawayer! There are two bathrooms and a toilet. One bathroom is in the parent's room, the other one would be to share between the kids and the Workawayer. The toilet is on the ground floor next to the kitchen.
    We have garden all around the house and during the warm days is possible to eat outside. We are sorrounded by olive trees and vineyards, but very close to every facility and to town.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Verona is a small city situated close to the beautiful Dolomiti mountains and to the Lake of Garda, halfway between Venice and Milan. It's very close to almost every type of landscape and a site of both incredible cultural experiences and beautiful natural trekking.
    Transportation to Verona is relatively easy. It takes 20 mins by bus to the town, by bike it takes 40 mins (only bike lanes). We have 2 cars and we can give the workawayer a ride downtown in the morning.
    Verona is a beautiful town, the city of love (Romeo and Juliet got married here) of Opera (in the Roman amphitheater) and of the most important wine fair in Europe.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have no fiber, but use a 4G connection Wi-fi from a dedicated mobile: Paola's working often from home too.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a private parking right next to the house, where also our two cars are parked. There's water but no electricity connection.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Host ref number: 735511347284