Help with some outdoor projects on our forested property on the Eastern Shore of Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are four people and two dogs living on a forested, 100 acre, oceanside property on the Eastern Shore of Nova Scotia. Yaro and Savayda live with their dog, Rexy, and Wouter, his son Ben and their dog Nala live in a separate home, next door. Our land is very special, with a beautiful coastline, 5 km of hiking trails and five islands to explore. We moved here 2.5 years ago to be immersed in nature, to enjoy hiking, biking, swimming and boating and the natural beauty in the area. We have vegetable and herb gardens and raise chickens for eggs. We have a diverse range of skills between us, including professional herbalist, foraging, gardening, carpentry and boating. We hope to attract individuals seeking a nature based lifestyle, who are willing and able to help with basic property care, and who are interested in learning the skills that we offer.

    It is peaceful and restorative being here. Everyone who visits feels at peace and enchanted by the beauty, us included.
    Our accommodation is suitable from May 15 - October 31

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers would learn various skills including carpentry, herbal medicine, gardening, boating (sailing, kayak, canoe).
    We offer a series of nature based workshops and retreats, which you are welcome to attend.
    We participate in local cultural activities such as our farmers market, music festivals and other events.
    We travel to Halifax (50 minutes) at least once a week for work and shopping, you could join if you wish to have a city day; Halifax has many cultural sites.
    We have bicycles you are welcome to use to explore the area.
    We have all travelled extensively around the world and enjoy learning about other people's cultures and travel experiences.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a few building projects that require assistance: sauna, small woodshed, outhouse. We are continuously clearing trails and spaces in the forest, so we would appreciate help clearing brush. Plus general property care - trimming hedges, mowing, help in the garden. We have a small saw mill, so need help hauling logs from the forest and milling.
    Good basic health, strength and stamina are an asset.
    Sorry, no pets as we already have two on the property, plus free-range birds.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camper trailer, 32 feet, with double bed, additional room with bunkbeds, living room, bathroom and kitchen. It has running water, heat and electricity. It is clean and bright.
    There is also an outdoor, shared kitchen for WorkAway and retreat participants to share.
    Food would be provided for independent meal preparation. We all get together several times a week for dinner, you would be welcome to join us.
    Also, a small, basic cabin, with access to shared communal kitchen and washroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 10 minutes from the nearest town and 45 minutes from Halifax. The Eastern Shore offers natural and cultural based activities, including the 100 Wild Islands, gorgeous beaches within 15 minutes, farmer's market and heritage sites. We travel to Halifax several times per week, and would be happy to show you around this historic city as well. We know the province of Nova Scotia inside and out and would help to arrange for you to do further exploring.
    We are situated on the ocean, within a strong culture of fishing and boating, and a slow-paced way of life. All seasons provide opportunity to be outside; we enjoy evening fires by the ocean under a bright sky. We don't over-consume alcohol, smoke nor use drugs and we ask the same of guests.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a separate office space available for online work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 271413473897