Looking for gardening and language exchange help in Waterford, Ireland

  • Favourited 49 times
  • Last activity: 25 May 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Dave 57 Jen 52 our son Jake 25 this is our family that live in our home. We also have 2 other sons David and Jake's twin Ryan who live in the UK. We have 2 small dogs Snowey and Lexi. I am an English man and Jen is Irish. We work in factory's on shift work and Jake too so we do work nights and have to sleep in the day so will need these times to be quite to enable this.
    We live in the countryside of Ireland appox 3 mile from the nearest town in any direction. Our home is a 5 bedroom detached bungalow set on 2 acres of land. We keep this well between the 2 of us and enjoy doing so but now feel
    we may benefit from a little help around the place. I have always wanted to learn different languages but don't find the time and the workaway system may help in this. We like to go for walks in the mountains and on the many beaches that are around, which are great for swimming and surfing weather permiting, as we live 3.5 miles from the nearest beach and about 7 to 10 miles from the mountain walks depending on the challenge you what. We also have the Waterford greenway only 800 metres from our gate which we walk on. This is a walk and cycle way connecting Dungarvan to Waterford. We live 14 miles from the large town of Dungarvan and 17 from the major city of Waterford, the oldest city in Ireland. We have a gym with sauna, bikes that will be available. It is a walk to the bus routes but there is usually one of us at home that could help with this where possible.
    Jen likes to go walking and cycling and keeping a beautiful home as she is very house proud.
    Myself I like all sports especially rugby, l like to get out to do gardening and D.I.Y. I also like cars. I also like to talk. We love Christmas and travel.
    We do not smoke.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live near Waterford the oldest city in Ireland. There are alot of excellent cultural site's around many we have been too but would love to go again given the time. We have alot of life experience and love to lean more.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We're looking for help in the garden using power tools ie chainsaws, mowers., etc some heavy work involved. Work in the home light cleaning and cooking etc. General maintenance. Nothing we wouldn't be doing ourselves

  • Accommodation


    Rural 5 bed bungalow. You would have your own bedroom in the home. There are 3 bathrooms. Gym. Large kitchen with range cooker gas and electric. Dinning room, large living room. Massive outdoor areas.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Read other text it's mainly covered

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 732948745782

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with an house painting in Dingle, Ireland
Join an intentional, rural community in the west of Ireland