Would you like to be part of our permaculture projekt on our beautiful estate with a stunning view in Kegnæs, Denmark



Favourited 119 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description



    first and really important... YOU HAVE TO SPEAK A FLUENT GOOD ENGLISH!!! Understanding us and expressing yourself should be easy for you!!!

    We (34/35/4/2 + a dog = immigrated German family) bought a great little estate at the south coast in Denmark on the peninsula Kegnæs, 350m away from the beach with a stunning view, with a calm and charming dog a another family, 16 chicken and the hysteric rooster Hassan.
    There are two old houses, from 1838 and 1902 they need to be renovated and a huge garden what was and is in big parts still full of wilderness that need to cut away.
    We already started creating a big permaculture garden, so we want to become so self sustainable as much as we can. We are already working since November 2017, but there will be a lot of work for the next five til ten years... =)

    The small house is already renovated in the inside now and we renting it out to the family with one fife year old girl until Summer. We live separated in the two houses, but love to share and use the private garden together.

    We need help for all of that or depends on what we or you choosing and organizing by the tasks every day. Please be fine fine with working in good and bad whether conditions, so most of the work is outside in the garden and a lot of the work is also heavy duty stuff like digging, shuffeling and digging all over again =)

    At the moment we working out the beets and creating the garden; the vegetable beets, the public area part of the property with a little hammock park (for which we still need to get rid of the wild stuff), digging around our ground and creating new spaces, renovating the glashouse to a little Orangerie and in April we start to rebuild our terrace roof, that we can use ist for including a solarthermie in our heating system, we want to build a open outdoor kitchen, a little Kiosk and a little house for storage.

    We offer a clean and cozy room, being and living as a part of our loving and friendly family life.

    We are happy to welcome other kids, but we don't offer a place for dogs in the house, cause of the fact that here are already living with one real peaceful dog and we don't like the trouble of a second one in the house.

    Please notice:
    Cause we having helpers over most time of the year and wish having people over they stay for longer... you will live here, you are not a guest!
    So the normal everyday life stuff is not part of the working time!
    Please take care about a clean house, just like normal, so you will live here as well... (vacuum clean the house ones a week and cleaning one of the two bathrooms, washing your clothes)
    We do NOT provide a daily hot shower, but we have an outdoor shower you are welcome to use whenever you like!
    Doing the dishes after a meal, should be of cause something do do naturally for everyone who didn't had to cook!

    We are grateful about every lovely person, who like to join, be a part and help us with our project!

    (now we working on creating a our huge garden into a eatable paradise as a permacuture projekt that we can be self sufficientand, selling seeds, fruits, herbs and vegetables as well, one day we want to run a Café and we want to try out a lot of ideas, that we can earn enough money to run that piece of land, see our childs growing and building up a cozy place)

    If you are interested staying in your own van/camper, there is enough space on our property, also should be a dog welcome then and your working time will be less as well. =)

    Are you interested? Please contact us!

    Wir (34/35/3,5/1,5+4 Pfoten = aus Deutschland emigrierte Familie) haben in Dänemarks Südostküste einen kleinen Hof am Meer gekauft und benötigen Hilfe bei der Dacherneuerung, beim Entwildern der 6500qm großen Grundstückes, beim Anlegen eines großen Permakulturgartens zur Selbstversorgung und kleineren Renovierungsarbeiten. Die Arbeit ist fast ausschließlich draußen, bei gutem wie bei schlechtem Wetter und kann auch mal ganz schön schwer sein.
    Zur Zeit ist es hauptsächlich Beete anlegen mit viel graben und schaufeln, sowie kleinere Bauprojekte.

    Wir bieten Kost und Logis mit fröhlichem und liebevollem Familienleben, freuen uns über weitere Kinder und freuen uns über liebe Menschen die Lust haben Teil unseres Projektes zu sein!

    Eine wichtige Anmerkung:
    Da wir fast das ganze Jahr ueber Helfer bei uns beherbergen, am liebsten Langzeithelfer... ihr lebt hier mit uns, ihr seid hier nicht nur zu Gast!
    Die Alltagsarbeiten im Haushalt sind nicht Gegenstand der Arbeitszeit sondern normale Aufgaben die in einer Gemeinschaft zu tun sind.
    Bitte helft uns das Haus sauber zu halten, ihr lebt ja auch darin...
    (einmal in der Woche saugen und einmal in der Woche eines der Badezimmer übernehmen, sowie deine Wäsche waschen) Wir bieten keine tägliche heiße Dusche, im Sommer ist eine Outdoordusche zur freien Verfuegung vorhanden.
    Der Abwasch nach einer Mahlzeit ist nicht Gegenstand der Arbeit, sondern sollte für alle, die gegessen und nicht gekocht haben, selbstverständlich sein!!!

    Liebe Grüße
    Die Morkenbande

    p.s. Da bei uns ein sehr chilliger und lieber Hund auf dem Hof lebt bieten wir keine Übernachtungsmöglichkeit im Haus für weitere Hunde, da wir auf das Theater, ob es passt oder nicht, keine Lust mehr haben.

    pp.s. Es ist genügend Platz vorhanden um mit eigenem Bus/Womo/Wowa zu kommen und hier bei uns im Garten zu stehen, dann auch mit Hund möglich und gerne eigener Verpflegung, dann ist auch der Arbeitseinsatz ein anderer =)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We just moved to Denmark, our language skills are very limited, but we love life and being! With us you can learn, that life is something what everyone has to decide by themselves, try being mostly satisfied and happy...
    And of cause, we choosed living really close to the ocean, with a stunning view, quite landscape, a kite spot in front of the door, it is just beautiful here =D

  • Help


    We would love help mainly i the garden, by cutting it free of the wilderness and create with us a huge perma culture garden this year, building up with us a hammock park and different little terraces, building up a little glamping hostel...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    You will get a tiny room with a double bed. You're invited to share the rest of the house like dining room, living room with fireplace etc....

    We are eating every kind of food and we are thankful for everything we are able to eat.

    Vegetarians are of cause very welcome, so we will provide that anyone is satisfied.

    During the week we have oats and fruits for breakfast, bread for lunch with cheese and sausages, warm or cold salads/vegetables or soup and a warm dinner, what is mostly vegetarian, sometimes with meet.
    On Sunday we do a Sunday's breakfast with rolls and boiled eggs, often cake or layer creamtartes in the afternoon and warm dinner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From Copenhagen goes a daily early FLIXBUS around 9AM to Sønderborg, please book it early enough so that we can pick you up latest around 4PM in Sønderborg from Monday til Thursday. Otherwise there is a hostel in Sønderborg where you can stay for one night and busses from SYDTRAFFIK no.229 to get here to the peninsula Kegnæs.

    We have old bicycles to ride around the island you are welcome to use to explore the surroundings of this beautiful place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (free days are flexible) =)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 732792211485