Join our family living out of town, right on the river in the beautiful Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia.



Favourited 81 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Hello! We are a young family of 4 living right by the river on the beautiful Sunshine Coast, Queensland. We live a happy and humble life with our 2 daughters, Daisy who's 4 and Alice who's 3 (and our dachshund Buddy and cat Pal). Craig is a plumber and Sophie works as a Nurse. Between us we have done a great amount of traveling (and workaway-ing) through Europe, Asia and the Americas. Seeing the world and experiencing many different cultures has given us a real appreciation for the beautiful place we call home and has truly enriched our lives. Now we are settled in the family lifestyle we are working towards living our lives as sustainably as possible, reducing waste and consumption are priorities in our household. We love getting down to the beach any chance we get, catching up with family and friends and just hanging out on our property with our beautiful girls, gardening, fishing and bonfires.
    We look forward to finding an honest, respectable and caring person to share our family and our home with.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful part of Australia and there are so many amazing things to see and do in our local area. You would not only learn our culture simply living with us but you would be able to experience the surrounding areas in all of your spare time.

  • Help


    We have recently purchased our beautiful property by the river in a very small area called Coochin Creek. It is very secluded and quiet and we live on almost an acre of land with our own private fishing jetty. On the property we are lucky enough to have two small houses. One for us and one for workawayers, I have included a couple of photos of the workaway house.
    With lots of space comes lots of jobs that need doing! Craig works full time and Sophie works part time, plus caring for our girls, we need a bit of help around the place. We have a few projects in the works which are mostly quite physical outdoor jobs including vegetable gardens, paving paths, constructing an added area to our house, digging pipe lines, preparing a chicken house etc etc... ideally it would be great if you had experience with farm type work and don’t mind getting your hands dirty!
    The tasks would change week to week, sometimes we might leave you with a job for the day or sometimes you would be helping us with a job over the weekend when we are both home. Generally the hours worked wouldn’t be more than 15 per week. If you are a couple one of you could entertain the kids while the other does the physical work.
    We would appreciate if you made an effort to get to know our kids and enjoy spending time with them. Our houses are about 100meters apart but the girls play all over the yard and will see you all the time so if you don’t like kids this isn’t the place for you 😊. Our girls are kind, fun and easy going, they love meeting new people from different places and sharing new experiences.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We can offer a furnished house separate from our own. It is fully contained with your own bathroom, kitchen, lounge and outdoor area. The house is about 100meters from our house so you would have your privacy. We have limited satellite internet at the main house and there is limited 4G internet around the property. You are welcome to use our wifi but this would mean sitting up at our house. We live on tank water as well so water conservation is very important in this climate.
    *️️*️️please be aware*️️*️️ We live approx 20-30mins drive south of Caloundra (which would be the closest beach) and if we are going into town we can certainly give you a ride, but having your own car would be ideal. We are pretty secluded and are surrounded by a huge amount of state forest so walking into town is not an option. The closest shops would be Beerwah, approx 10min drive.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would also like to say that in our experience as workawayers and as hosts our place would likely work best for couples wanting to have a break from the busy towns and cities. As we are that little bit remote and only about 10 neighbours around us, a single person may feel a little isolated after a bit of time. But if you love nature, sitting by the river, fishing and forest walks than this is the place for you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 16 hours per week (sometimes less)

Host ref number: 727775481971