updated  

Looking for help to set up gardens and building projects on our own piece of paradise in Mullumbimby (near Byron Bay), Australia

  • Favourited 330 times
  • Last activity: 12 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family and Granny living on our own peace of paradise, and are in the continual process of setting it up as a Permaculture Farm. 5 minutes out of Mullumbimby we live on a tenancy-in-common (AKA Multiple Occupancy) with an awesome group of neighbours.

    We have two daughters 14 and 10, about 20 chickens, 13 guinea fowl, 10 ducks, and 2 cats and dog as well. We have abundant wildlife around, and plenty of cows on the shared 60 acres that surround our property.

    We are looking for help setting up gardens, and orchard, fencing, building projects, general maintenance, and help with the animals if you are so inclined.

    Cyrano is a permaculture activist with years of training alongside David Holmgren. We also have a Vetiver Nursery on our property, and are doing many projects around our property using this amazing plant. Bianca is a passionate homemaker who loves cooking and preserving tasty and nourishing food. We enjoy visiting the beach, playing music, and enjoying nature.

    We would offer a renovated caravan that has a fully equipped caravan with a kitchen, a queen-sized bed, a compost toilet behind, and an outdoor shower, with hot water and great wifi (which does get turned off at 10 pm sometimes). The mobile reception is limited, though works well for some people. You will have privacy in the caravan space and there is a lovely view and firepit perfectly situated for star-gazing.

    Exchange can be negotiated, we offer some garden produce and eggs (when and if available) but you will make your own meals in the caravan and supply your own food. On occasion, we may share a meal together but not too often. Also, laundry needs to be done in town, there is a great laundromat in Mullumbimby.

    For the exchange of the caravan, we would appreciate 3 hours of work per day for 5 days of work per week and 2 days of rest on weekends (minimum 2-week stay). Also happy for you to work hours over a few days and have the rest of the week off. Whatever suits, we are flexible, we find it works best if we sit down at the beginning of your stay and work out a rough schedule that suits everyone. Having a car is beneficial for longer-term stays as we are a 35-minute walk to town.

    We would prefer no smoking in the caravan and people who have some familiarity with living on a farm. We live in such an incredible place and look forward to sharing it with you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have many beautiful teachings available on our farm, permaculture and regenerative agriculture are both practised and taught here. Also Bianca cooks many things from scratch so sometimes there is opportunity to learn about fermenting foods, making yoghurt, cheese and bread etc. As we live on a community there is often community working bees and a great group of people to meet.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love for you to do what you are passionate about and are open to you offering suggested projects. Things we NEED help with are:
    Building Projects - some finishing work on the house, farm maintenance projects etc
    Farming - Veggie garden planting, weeding, fruit tree planting, working on Vetiver nursery, mowing
    Animal Care - We have sheep that need to be moved, chickens that need to be fed and locked up, baby chicks to be checked on, moveable fencing to relocate, the list goes on...
    Help in the house - Deep cleaning - like windows and cupboards etc, help decluttering
    Babysitting/Childcare - Our 2 girls love to play and when needed (rarely) we would love childcare.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravan with own kitchen and compost toilet. The caravan has been renovated, has a comfortable queen size bed, fully equipped kitchen, couch and dining table, wifi and fridge! Everything you need and set in beautiful nature. There is a lovely hot outdoor shower beside the caravan and a compost toilet close by. The facilities are yours during your stay, and you will not need to share with anyone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are happy to take volunteers around the area when/if we have time on weekends. We do have a bike to loan so that you can get into town, but we would prefer to host people who have their own vehicle. Mullumbimby and surrounds have beautiful nature and a rich diverse cultural scene that many people fall in love with!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wifi reception in the caravan, however it has been playing up and is not working consistently at present. Mobile reception is not great, but you can walk up the hill to make calls or use wifi calling on your phone. I am sorting to get the wifi working in the caravan

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is ample space to park a campervan or motorhome if needed.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week. Happy for you to do 2 long days also.

Host ref number: 583622475225

Feedback (8)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Help on our veggie and flower garden in Nimbin, Australia
Beautiful farm stay in Adelaide Hills, Australia