Looking for landscapers for our garden project and musicians for our Guesthouse on Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia

Country

Cambodia

Favourited 248 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and volunteer at the most popular guesthouses on the beautiful Otres Beach. We are friendly and inclusive, looking for volunteers. We are just meters from the blue surf, where we throw weekly barbeque parties with live music and open mics.

    The Village location is a short walk from the beach, a peaceful spot well established in the expat community. Our fonder is a Khmer woman, the friend of every traveler seeking good company, food and drinks.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Otres 1 is a gem of an expat community hidden outside the busy touristic Sihanoukville.

    A laid back beach vibe with calm waters, it is one kilometer away from Otres Village, an extended community built into the forest, full of hangout spots and great restaurants. Creative types of all sorts congregate here -- there are always art projects seeking bright minds, and it is almost difficult to list all the opportunities here with such a rapidly evolving environment. Art galleries and painting, fire dancing and circus arts, as well as music and writing projects all happen here. The local Khmer are very welcoming, and there is always a party to be found. If you want to escape the bars and parties, Otres 1 is a short drive away from the National Park, scenic mountain views and the beautiful waterfall.

    Culturally, Otres 1 is a popular spot for Khmer weddings and birthdays, we always have room to invite new friends along. Karaoke nights with the locals and local cuisine are two great ways to get to know and love Cambodia. All of our helpers will be given a chance to live, work and eat within the multicultural micro-society of travelers.

  • Help

    Help

    If you are prepared to put in honest, hard work, you will walk away from this with the experience of a lifetime.

    You will be volunteering with a large Khmer family, and have the opportunity to learn the local language and customs. In the Village we are constructing the guesthouse, looking for landscapers for our garden project, as well as general hands-on help.

    Trips to the local markets for supplies, event organization, painting projects and reception are all areas we need help in. Sociable people who want to learn from the Khmer, chat with tourists, and get to know our regulars are wanted. We wont hire any drug addicts, but you need to be able to have a good time. If you have any experience with live music or DJ entertainment, or are a musician or artist yourself, you might be a great fit as we have weekly nights with performers and musicians. You need to be able to handle your drink, and handle people.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Khmer: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Male and Female dorm room accommodation

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are multiple themed party nights on Otres 1 and in Otres Village. Pool competitions, live music shows at the Otres Market, trivia nights, and beach barbeques can keep you busy with fun and friends. There are fire dancing and circus arts workshops. If you like to cook, you'll enjoy the local markets full of fresh and organic produce. You can find seclusion in local fishing and wilderness, horseback riding, and the three tropical islands just off the shore of Otres and Sihanoukville. Waterfalls, temples, and monastic retreats are all nearby. For transport, buses run to Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, Kampot and Kep daily. Tuk tuks, cars, and motos drive to and from Sihanoukville, and boats run regularly to the islands.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 727689695511