Share travel stories and help me with Spanish conversation in Vernon, Canada

Country

Canada

new host  

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am 59, I do physiotherapy from home a few hours/week. I am looking to expand my social circle by having someone else live in my pleasant house. I speak
    English, French (Canadian) and German (Canadian German haha). I would play the piano and sing more if I had company. I know a lot of great hikes and nature retreats and love showing the Okanagan Valley to new visitors. I don't need help with anything but I enjoy working together on projects such as sewing, and inventing things. In winter I skate ski and snowshoe. I enjoy cooking, especially Thai food. I get along with people of all ages. I'm not much of a TV watcher but would be into watching a serial show on Netflix occasionally.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I enjoy sharing travel stories and learning new cultures. I would be into trading lessons for Spanish conversation. I listen to a lot of classical music and am fairly knowledgeable about instrumentation. I like getting like-minded people together for games, meals and conversation.

  • Help

    Help

    This workaway would be like a retreat for a traveller. My house and neighbourhood are pretty quiet. There's an opening for a woman companion who is perfectly fine on her own as well, as I am. She must enjoy some or all: crafts, cooking, live music, reading, languages, nature, walking. I would say a two week trial period and if we are compatible, I'd be into repeating the adventure! I need some who can be reliable and help with light housework.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a large bedroom that is available but only part of the closet will be emptied out for you. This has worked in the past. The bedroom is next to the bathroom. There are two bathrooms and now I also have a swim spa!!. I live next to a park and there is good access to walking trails as well as it's only a 15 min walk to downtown. Parking is not an issue. Bus service in Vernon is quite poor. My kitchen is fairly small so we would have to work out timing for cooking, or share meals: I eat mostly hunter gatherer diet, but make some vegetarian meals as well. I have copious amounts of cooking vessels.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Vernon is in the heart of the North Okanagan. There are amazing hills and lakes within a short drive in several directions. There are many artists and farmers in the area. Before the scamdemic, a lot of live music was available. I've been here 25 years and never tire of the activities available to us. I simply enjoy sharing the joys of this 4 season lifestyle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 726362363717