Veggie Patches, Beaches and a Coffee Van! Bermagui, New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 184 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: The south coast is suffering large bushfires at the moment and fires burn just a few kilometres from my door step. I don't feel that it would be safe to have anyone here at the moment, so I will not be taking on any voluteers for the time being. If my home still stands by March then I will begin looking at resuming the project. I wish you the best of luck in your travels!


    I live in a super awesome location! It's right across the road from the beach, with a massive backyard and a three bedroom house! At the moment I'm working on building a coffee van/food van from scratch. The aim is to make food with as much local produce as possible and very little waste! Additionally I'm aiming to grow enough food to live off and use in the business. It's so exciting!
    The house has a laundry, computer, printer, unlimited wifi, home gym, records and more! You're free to use any of it to your leisure!

    Ah, I almost forgot! This is some stuff about me; I'm a bit weird, I love healthy eco living, I surf, cook and read books! I've been a volunteer in the past just like yourself and I've also been to about 20 countries, so I might even be familiar with your culture. Right now I'm learning Japanese, piano, Latin dancing and filmmaking. Always keen to learn more!!

    Note: If you check the map, it shows my place is in the middle of the ocean. I definitely live on land hahaha... or maybe I'm a super billionaire with a private island?? Who knows, maybe you'll just have to find out!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have an awesome group of friends who live in the area and we usually do dinner parties, go to events, do yoga, and other healthy stuff. (we also like to cut loose, but in some moderation!)
    I've got a couple surf boards too, so if you're into it we can go for a paddle, or I can show you a thing or two. This whole area is incredibly beautiful, so I'll show you around to all the good places in my time off!

  • Help

    Help

    Goals/Projects

    September - November
    - Caravan Construction
    - Building More Garden Beds!!
    - Building a Chicken Pen
    - House Cleaning/Maintenance

    December - March
    - Caravan Construction
    - Creating a Menu and Systems
    - Making Aprons and Clothing (Upcycling)
    - Refining the Whole Project (making it more efficient and sustainable)
    - Growing Oyster Mushrooms

    NOTE: We're seriously in need of someone with a carpentry background, welding skills, or electrician background at the moment!

    Also! I wouldn't mind a hand with improving the business social media account and creating tutorials/videos about the project! I really want to share the story and inspire others to pursue their eco dreams!! :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Hours and accommodation are all totally flexible, it really depends on what you can do and how often you want to do it!
    Meals are included! We can share the cooking too, I love cooking though. There's a home gym in the garage, you're welcome to use it to get fit for summer!! (I workout Mon/Wed/Fri, you can join me!)
    I only ask that you're respectful of the space and tidy up after yourself of course. I love a clean homely space!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I drive around a bunch doing cool stuff when I can. In your spare time I'm more than happy to show you all my favourite spots! The area is super picturesque, I think!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 - 10 (flexible!)

The local scenery!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 725965711134