Your Home-away-from-Home in the Comox Valley, Canada



Favourited 50 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    ***UPDATE*** Currently looking for a last-minute helper from now until mid-October to help my husband and daughter care for my horses while I am visiting family in Europe. Experience with horses is necessary.

    We are a retired couple living on a beautiful 5-acre property in the Comox Valley with our 2 chocolate labs, orange cat and 3 horses. The property is a combination of woodland and pasture, with two ponds, fruit orchard and lots of berry bushes.

    Our guests' private bedrooms are in a separate part of the house from us. We have all the usual stuff e.g. TV, WiFi, Music, Wii etc. The living area is comfortable and you can relax in the hot tub at the end of the day, or roast sausages and marshmallows over the firepit in the garden!

    We are 10 minutes drive from town and offer our helpers the use of bicycles and camping equipment. We are also 20 minutes from Mt. Washington for skiing/snowboarding in the winter, and mountain-biking in the summer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Rod and I have both travelled extensively and, as former owners of a Homestay business in Vancouver, we are very accustomed to having students and guests from other countries and cultures living with us. We like to find out, in advance, the kinds of things you want to experience while you are in Canada so that we can research and help you achieve those goals when you get here.

  • Help


    We need help with everything on our property so we can adapt chores to fit with the skills and comfort-level of the Workawayers. Whether it's cleaning up branches, helping with the horses and dogs, cleaning the house or a small building project, there is always something to do. We ask for 25 hours each week but we are very flexible so if you want to work 3 days and go touring for the rest of the week, that's fine with us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (British and Canadian!) some French, a little Spanish

  • Accommodation


    We have 3 bedrooms available for our Workawayers. One has an ensuite bathroom, the other two share a bathroom. The rooms are bright, comfortably furnished and have wifi access. Sometimes we eat together, but we have found that most of our helpers prefer to cook for themselves and eat when they want. This way we can accommodate all dietary preferences.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Comox Valley is a beautiful part of Vancouver Island, with both mountains and ocean close by. There is so much to do both for outdoor enthusiasts and for those who prefer the art and music scene. Rod and I live a quiet life but have found ourselves needing help as we advance in age. We have hosted over 36 travellers in the past two years, through HelpX and all our reviews have been 5-star with no problems or negativity. We are extremely laid-back and have only one main house rule ...... you are not allowed to be hungry, thirsty or have the wrong body temperature!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 474458999567