Help us to restore our beautiful place and enjoy living in the forest in Uddebo, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    About our place

    Our place is a small home in the forest. We bought the place in 2012 and lived there for 5 years before having to give up and move away. We dont live there full time at the moment, but will be making a summer camp there this year. The goal is to be able to live there permanently in the long term.

    There is an old timber frame cottage that has seen its better days.

    There is both chaos and beauty at our place. Chaos coming from a bit of a break down a couple of years ago, that left our place in a rather broken down state of being.
    The beauty comes from the wonderful place, the beautiful old trees, the peaceful energy and the feeling of a place full of life and potential.

    Our intention is to return to Lunnaberg a small step at the time, rebuilding the place into a new home for us. All the time in accordance with nature and the spirit of the place.

    It is important for you to know that our place and our whole family are still recovering from setbacks, and we need you to be understanding about this. Although frail, we are also full of optimism and very happy to be back on track again, looking forward to spending time there with nice people!

    About us
    We are a family of two adults, two children (aged 8 and 4), one dog and one cat.
    Apart from having lived through a bit of a crisis with the falling apart of our emotional well being as well as the failure of creating a life in our place, we are kind, happy and creative people. We are artists in the areas of music, photography, poetry and dancing. We love nature and gardening and natural buildning.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are no experts, still learning as we go along, but we have some knowledge and experience about permaculture, creating a food forrest, natural buildning, vegan gardening.
    Apart from that we are happy to share arts and musical experiences, as well as showing you around in the alternative village Uddebo, where we have our everyone day life at the moment.

  • Help

    Help

    Our mail goals of inviting volonteers to our place this summer is to slowly start making the place livable again, in a new way.
    There will be some tedious and heavy work such as repairing and organizing tools, buildings etc, gathering up odd things here and there, taking it to be recycled. But there will also be more fun and joyful tasks both in natural building and in gardening. For example tending to the neglected beginning of a food forest, clearing soil, making compost, preparing land to be garden patches, nurturing our fruit and nut trees.
    In natural building, the big project will be finishing the rest of the tiny forest house that will be an over night place for us. There is also the posibility to be creative, and if we and you have the energy for it we might build an outdoor fire-heated bathtub, a garden shower, or continue creating our outdoor kitchen. We are very happy for you to bring new ideas into the place! We are beginners at what we do, learning as we go along. We are happy to share with you what we know, and keep learning together.

    Note that we wish you to be able to work on your own with the volonteer team at times. We will definately be part of the everyday work and life most of the time, but we're not sure how much we will be tied up by payed work, kids activites etc, so it is important that you can be self going at times.

    We ask that you work approximately 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

  • Languages spoken

    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The main sleeping arrangemants are in tents. In the tents there are comfortable beds and matresses, and sleeping bags or warm quilts. The volonteers also share a caravan, where you have a joined kitchen and hang-out space.

    On the farm there is electricity, cold water and an outdoor compost toilet. There is no shower. But you can heat up water and wash yourself in the garden. There is also a swiming lake 10 minutes walk away.
    If we get around to it we can make a garden shower together! There is wifi, how ever not unlimited.

    We are aiming for a group of 2-3 volonteers. And at the moment we are offering workawaying at the end of June until the end of July (and in May at our house in Uddebo, se the end of this text for more info).

    You will have access to a washing machine to do your laundry.

    We will be living at our place most of the time, in a tiny forest house that is under construction. Sometimes we will spend a few nights away from our place though, staying in our flat in the nearby village Uddebo, due to work, school and other commitments. Therefore it's important that you can work quite independantly at times.

    Cooking will mostly be done outdoors, although there is an almost functional kitchen in the old cottage. We all help and and take turn doing the cooking. We will eat a joined meal during the day. In the evening we might want to spend some alone time with our family. On those nights you tend to your own cooking together with the other volonters (we provide food of course).

    Our place is a vegan place.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Close to our place , there are lovely forests and a swimming lake. The nature is beautiful and peaceful, and there is plenty of time to hang around in the wild.
    10 km away there is the small but interesting and lively village Uddebo. In Uddebo, there are a lof poeple living with interests and projects in arts, ecological buildning, comunal gardening, cultural events etc. We are happy to show you around in Uddebo during your stay.
    The nearest town with a super market etc is Svenljunga, 8 km away.

    We can help you get around by bike or by getting a lift in our car etc.

    In May we can offer you a different kind of volonteer work! At this time our caravan will be placed in Uddebo, in the garden at the house we are renting there. We can invite 1 or 2 volonteers to stay for a few weeks. The work will be partly gardening, clearing beds, planting, sowing, making compost etc, and partly going out to our forest place Lunnaberg and keep buildning on the tiny forest house there.

    The house is very central in Uddebo, being close to fun activites and people! But also with the forest and some lovely nature tracks nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 724851391378