Participate in my jungle garden project in Jerslev, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 112 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    3

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    When I bought this little piece of forest with my wife (teacher) and settled with our five children 20 years ago, I started to develop gardens for production of vegetables organically. My wife died 6 years ago of ALS and dementia - I took care of her at home untill the day before she died. It was a challenging time, but I am satisfied because I had a personal connection with her and after all we had 5 children together. A few of my work experiences are nurse assistant, farming and builder. I also learned to repair my own car (Citroen 2CV,xantia and DS ) helping a skilled master. I think that is the reason why I never liked to work as a traditional teacher even if I got the education. My five children (2 boys and 3 girls) are living in CPH, Odense, Helsinki and Aarhus.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Through all my life I have been exploring how to establish good relations with people I worked with or people I met by chance. Exploring all aspects of life with my guests is my intention.
    Learn to establish a vegetable garden.

  • Help

    Help

    The work is mainly taking care of vegetable production on 150 squaremeters raised beds.Production of firewood for own use is also part of my work when the weather is not too hot or the rain is pouring down.
    My small jungle is so filled with opportunities to develop ideas to improve it as an eco platform for living.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Acommodation is on the first floor in the main house with bathroom and kitchen. My private room is in a building close to the house (5 meters between the entrances). Food is free, organic or biodynamic. All my food has been free of animal protein, latest year also glutenfree and after 4 years it has stopped development of rheumatoid arthritis, but you can have additional food like fish, meat and eggs as long as its organic ( I dont buy non organic) . Exchange of experience about food is an important reason for me to have visitors.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you want to explore this part of Denmark on your own there is a busstop 2 km. away to go to Frederikshavn or Brønderslev with a train to Aalborg. When you arrive I will pick you up at the trainstation in Aalborg/ Brønderslev or Aalborg airport. If you have an idea of a project - wood cutting, photo or sewing I would be happy to assist. I have a very good Bernina sewing machine and some top quality Nikkormat cameras from the sixties and seventies with some special lenses. I take my guests to the beach and other special places in this part of DK all year round.
    From Oktober I have a 200Mbit fiberconnection and extended WIfi.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

45 years ago
Host ref number: 723965443588