Caretaking and eco project in a mystic and magical place, Bacalar, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 220 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    427

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single mother of a 4 year old. Marcos my son’s father often stays for a visit to be with Noah. I was born in Mexico City but lived in the States for many years where I graduated with a BA in International Relations and economics. I love people, traveling, reading, playing with my son and being often instead of doing. I love Bacalar with all my heart!!!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Endless possibilities here in this amazingly beautiful, mystic place. It has a powerful lake known for its 7 shades of blue and it is the home of the oldest form of organisms. Located among Mayan communities you will be part of Mayan culture, language and traditions. Bacalar’s history is Unique in the Mayan world. I am a Spanish and English teacher also. The town is thriving with conscious visitors from all over the world who understand the importance of protecting the lake, culture and traditions. For all you water loving people sailing is a way of life here between fresh and salty waters of the Caribbean. We are only 20 mins from the border with Belize. I could go on and on.......

  • Help

    Help

    UPDATE:
    At the moment my eco project at a temporary standstill, so I'm currently only looking for someone to take care of my son Noah. I would prefer someone with experience taking care of kids, and ideally someone that has worked with kids with special needs before. But if you're just passionate about kids, feel free to write me!

    I am building a small traveler’s welcoming lodge, Eco friendly, comfortable and affordable in the magical town of Bacalar, Quintana Roo, Mexico. I need help with gardening and construction using perma culture techniques and all natural and recycled materials. I also need someone to take care of my beautiful 4 year old Noah who happens to have Down syndrome. I will be around most of the time but I am looking for someone responsible who can play and keep an eye on Noah when I have to go buy stuff in town. Looking for people who would be willing to help 4 hours/day.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment I offer camping space with a tent. I will provide the tent, bedding and all. We're building a space for volunteers, and eventually it will become a space with a bed for you. I have a shower, bathroom and the kitchen is free too use! . I offer a lot of basics for cooking; stuff like oil, oats, Quinoa, spices, coffee and stuff like that. There are markets nearby, and you are free to use the kitchen as you please, and there'll always be room in the fridge for your food. I also have Wi-Fi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Couples are welcome. I speak fluent English and Spanish.

    The lagoon is 200m away. Water sports galore, archeological sites, 2 hours from top 10 most beautiful beaches of Tulum. Scuba diving in 2nd largest reef in the world. Great place for musicians and artists.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 721717688953