Come and stay in beautiful South West Wales on a 38 acre farm, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 118 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and stay in beautiful South West Wales on a 38 acre farm.

    We came here 6 years ago and our aim is to create a sustainable (financially and environmentally), diverse small farm. It is important to us to protect and enhance the biodiversity here as part of reinvigorating the farm.

    Across the farm there is a mixture of pasture, woodlands and meadows. A small river runs along our southern boundary. We have a polytunnel, micro vineyard, fruit and veg garden and small orchard. We have chickens, two pigs and a few sheep. In the house we also have two dogs and five cats.

    We are developing a woodland management plan and we are gradually increasing the number of trees around the farm. We supply all our firewood from the farm. In spring 2018 we started keeping bees and have two hives. Some of the pasture (currently being prepared by the pigs) will be ploughed and planted with flowers for the bees. We are just starting to grow mushrooms on logs, hoping that it could be a great woodland business for us. We have run a small campsite in the past and are considering some tourist activity again so there may be visitors through the summer. We also have a converted ambulance campervan called Florence which we hire out.

    What's Happening in Spring 2019:
    Tree Planting - in February and early March we will be planting 1600 trees in a 3.5 acre field
    Woodland work - clearing paths, cutting logs and bringing wood for processing up to the yard
    Mushrooms - soaking the inoculated logs to encourage the mushrooms to fruit!
    Firewood processing - splitting and stacking firewood, building additional firewood shelter
    House render removal - using a mixture of hand and power tools, removing cement render from house stone walls to be replaced with lime. There may also be an opportunity to learn how to apply lime render depending on the time of your visit
    Veg Garden - clearing and preparing the veg patch and the polytunnel, bringing on seedlings, watering and weeding

    In the past we have volunteered on farms in many countries, had an allotment when we lived in Bristol for 10 years and have hosted farming volunteers here for the past few years. We are happy to share the knowledge we have accumulated, share the learning with our newer ventures as we develop them, and of course we love to learn from others as they bring skills and knowledge to us.

    We have 3 children, a girl and 2 boys aged 12,15 and 17. They are a diverse bunch! Between them they have a love of arts and creative activities, love of animals and the outdoors, and a love of adventure, water sports and computer games! The eldest 2 have autism which mostly means they appreciate people taking a little more time and a calmer approach to things. All 3 have enthusiasm and energy and if you enjoy their company and would like to engage with them that's wonderful but it is not an expectation of you working with us.

    The weather can be harsh - mostly wet and windy through the Winter and into the Spring, and the work can be physically demanding throughout the year including the processing of fire wood. However, when the suns breaks through it is glorious! There is an abundance of wildlife here including owls, kites, buzzards, herons, foxes, badgers ... the list goes on! Away from the farm you have the Pembrokeshire National Park which covers the Preseli Mountains (seen from our track), coastal path, dolphins and seals and islands and a wealth of activities! We actively encourage you to get out and explore and enjoy Pembrokeshire and beyond.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As former volunteers on farms around the world, we really enjoy now being able to host people ourselves. Feedback from volunteers who have stayed with us in the past tells us that people appreciate our food, the fact that we genuinely enjoy working with you as and when we can, and the beauty of the countryside here.

    We are an English and Scottish couple, we can just manage to get by in French but really aren't very good at languages (to our shame!). We can help you improve your English but you will need a good basic level to start with. You can enjoy hearing Welsh spoken across this area.

    One of the limitations of living with autism (there are many good things too!) is that we cannot travel as much as we would like. Hosting gives us a great opportunity to bring parts of the world here, broadening our horizons and sharing all sorts of things with the children.

    Pembrokeshire, and indeed all of Wales and the UK as a whole, has some of the most glorious scenery and historical sites. We are happy to help get you to public transport to get out and explore, share our bikes and lend our camping equipment. You are also welcome to enjoy walks and outings with us. We are pretty isolated here - the closest train station is 20 minutes via the footpath or 15 minutes on a bicycle via the road. You can also easily get a ferry to Ireland from North Pembrokeshire.

  • Help

    Help

    We ask for 25 hours per week and are flexible on how you work this. Please be aware that one of us works away part of the week so we prefer if you take time off during the week so that we can work with you when here. The work here includes
    - preparing and looking after the fruit and veg garden - watering, weeding, planting, digging, weeding, harvesting, weeding!
    - building and repairing fences, possible hedgelaying
    - woodlands - felling (you would have to have chainsaw experience to do this), hauling cut wood, firewood processing and stacking, planting new trees (Winter)
    - animal care - feeding, cleaning out, dog walking/playing, cat stroking (optional!)
    - general maintenance - repairing outbuildings, painting windows, stone wall building, gutter clearing, strimming and grass cutting, ditch clearing and digging
    - pond - clay lining
    - mushrooms - preparing logs etc
    - tractor driving - mowing, harrowing, shifting stuff
    - mechanics - tractor maintenance and any help with our old Morris Traveller car very very welcome!
    - around the house - some cleaning and general help as needed - may include some cooking but not essential
    - possible help with camping/tourist activity
    - anything else that might pop up! Flexible is good :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have converted an outbuilding adjacent to the house (The Cowshed) for volunteers to stay in. This means you have your own space and privacy as needed but are not isolated. The kitchen in the main house is always open and a shared space.

    In The Cowshed there are beds for 2 people, a sofa and a table/desk.

    The Cowshed has a woodburner (both The Cowshed and the main house require firewood for all their heating), a bathroom with electric shower and wi-fi.

    There is also a room where you can make tea/coffee and some simple food. You will have breakfast in The Cowshed, other meals you can cook for yourself or share the family meal. We're happy to make a plan that suits you best. Most food will be vegetarian although we do cook meat (from the farm) sometimes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are footpaths from the farm (more mud than path at some times of the year), the coast is 20 mins away by car, the nearest train station is 3/4 mile via footpath or 2.5 miles via the road. Public transport is limited here but we will do our best to help you get around if you don't have your own transport. Happy to share our bikes. The village (1 mile walk) has 2 pubs but not much else. There are a number of tourist attractions nearby such as Oakwood Theme Park, Blue Lagoon, Pembrokeshire Wake Park and others a little further afield.

    Outdoor activities here are excellent. Pembrokeshire Coast National Park was established as a National Park in 1952, and is the only one in the United Kingdom to have been designated primarily because of its spectacular coastline. The coast path starts in Amroth - 20 minutes from here by car.

    We do need to ask you to be aware that we do require your consideration when it comes to the children with autism. There will be occasions when we will need to give the children our full focus and need to ask you to continue in your activities without us. We're really happy to give you more information - any questions happily answered.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 717231682313