Come and help to create a paradise on my mother's land in n Fundão

Country

Portugal

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    499

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! My name is Alex, i'm 27 years old.

    I am part of a eco friendly and sustainable family working with the land; looking for similar folk to join us on our mission which is to make a home on my mother's land as right now it is a yurt on bare untouched land. If nature is your thing, then definitely read some more, as i have summed up everything in the fields below.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will get a true organic experience from living on the land in Portugal with all the luscious fruits and vegetables that the land of Fundão has to provide. You will be cooked a meal every day by either myself or my Mother or Brother (My Mum and bro are particularly fantastic with food and have lots of experience cooking for large groups of people to an exquisite level - im just pretty good, they are amazing however (something certainly not to be missed). We will also provide food for lunch however it cannot be guaranteed that we will be able to cater both meals on a daily basis but we will endeavor to make it as catered for as possible, basically an open fridge policy - there will always be food to eat guaranteed :)

    On some days we will do outings so that everybody gets a real feel for the beautiful area that they are coming to. It is a real treat to be in the Vale de Prazeres and there is so much here to be enjoyed, beautiful hikes, camping spots, wild swimming - essentially if being in and around nature and quality is something that uplifts you then this really is a fantastic opportunity for the nature lovers and sun seekers! We are looking for these types as you will resonate with us and have a lot to talk about, share and ultimately spend time with people that you can really connect with.

    My mother is a wild mushroom and truffle hunter by trade and has a wealth of knowledge regarding all aspects of this - identification, sustainability of harvesting and instinct. If you love mushrooms, my lovely mother really would be influential to your life and she would be more than happy to give experiences and share knowledge with people who also share an interest in this department too. To put it blankly, she is one of those hippy Eco-warrior types who lived her teenage years in 70's London - you're gonna love her!

    My brother in particular is a fantastic chef and after having some of his meals you will become undoubtedly curious as to how he makes some of his dishes. He loves to help people and to share his cooking knowledge. He is also a talented beat boxer and rapper and causes endless amounts of laughter and positivity wherever he goes. Be prepared to meet some wacky characters and an even wackier family!

    I will be taking a break from my job in England where i sell organic food to come and help direct the work done on the land and to accommodate you all as you trade your skills and efforts for a truly bespoke fun loving experience!! An awesome party at some point during the stay will be had amongst mini daily parties - we work hard but we also play hard too!!

    None of us speak Portugese, so any help with that would be fantastic as we are all eager to learn as we want to be able to integrate ourselves in the country that we are choosing to reside in. My mum speaks French, and I get by quite well with Spanish.

    We accept all types of people, from anywhere in the world. We are accepting of all people who think in whatever way - all that we ask is that you are nice, helpful and that you can bring something to to the table.

  • Help

    Help

    3.5 Hectares of mixed land landscapes - taming and shaping some of the land for human use and to keep its natural beauty.
    Clearing terraces of brambles so a lot of gardeners needed!
    Carpentry skills needed to build a pontoon for the outdoor natural pool (wild swimming). Building showers and kitchens.
    More gardening help for creating vegetable plots, so some green fingered individuals would be totally valued.
    Anyone with skills in deconstruction to deconstruct an old crumbling barn that is on the land.
    Lots of work on rocks and boulders so people prepared to garden acrobatically.
    Anyone with knowledge of waterways - streams, ponds, wildlife.
    Tree surgeons to take pines out.
    Irrigation skills - could be planning best routes of water to spending days clipping bits of tube together
    Anyone with any natural/eco-friendly building experience to help create some structures on the land, perhaps a new barn or even a miniature dwelling.

    All creative people welcome, especially those good with their muscles as this kind of work can at times be fairly labor intensive ;)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish (my mum French).

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will provide a sheltered area with tents for the campers to sleep under. Full cooking facilities, compost loos (the natural way!) are all available. We will have washing facilities in the form of outdoor showers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a VW Transporter which will be utilized to take people to and fro to destinations, also to pick people up from certain arrival spots. We will not go all the way to the airport to get you, however we will pick you up from Fundão bus stop/ train station or Castelo Branco and drop you back when you sadly leave us. This will also be used for outings and trips to the shops to grab essentials as and when needed.

    We are starting work from the 10th of July. There is work up until September 10th, and we will be constantly updating new tasks and jobs to be done up until that point.

    We expect that everyone is willing to help a maximum 25 hours a week, in exchange for a truly heartfelt blissful experience. We really will take exceptional care of you and hope that you come away from this with awesome memories of the entire time spent with us. We are looking for open minded helpers - no free loaders as it really does defeat the object of coming along to a thing like this. Community is built on the foundation of honesty, hard work trust and love. We only want people that see eye to eye on this front. People who understand that life is only as good as the effort that you put into it.

    We are so excited to meet you all and to have a bloody good time!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week and weekends off.

My truffle hunter mum and her boys.
My Mum and her partner

Host ref number: 717162353236