Warm family farmhouse welcome in the heart of Wiltshire, England, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we’re Beth and Dan, a pair of greying veggies (omnivores welcome!) and we live with 2 part-time children (age 10 & 13), 2 dogs, 1 horse, 4 ponies and 8 hens in a large 4 bedroom, c17th house (building site) with a walled garden on the edge of Salisbury Plain in Wiltshire. We live a fairly rustic lifestyle, usually muddy and keen to start making cider in our cellar.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We run a liberal household, are proud Europeans and welcome you to the UK and particularly the beautiful area where we live. Beth is a garden designer and Dan is an ecologist, we have a wide range of interests and love meeting new people, sharing our home and the experiences we have day to day. We're self taught builders & gardeners and have a particular love of the habitats and wildlife around us.

  • Help

    Help

    We would welcome help with the house and daily chores so if you’re a frustrated housekeeper that’s perfect! We also need help with gardening, vegetable plots, animals and numerous building & restoration projects in the house and outside including converting a swimming pool in to an eco pool. If you have any skills in building, carpentry, painting & decorating, we could really use them right now. In return you'll have your own room, TV and wifi and be well fed.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in an old farmhouse which was derelict 4 years ago and we are continuing to restore. Either a single person or a couple is welcome, your room can either be a twin room or a double. The only no-no is smoking so non-smokers only!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You won't be short of things to do when you stay with us, the local area is full of historic, cultural and environmental interest; Stonehenge, Avebury, Bath, Salisbury Plain & Salisbury. There’s abundant walking, riding and cycling on Salisbury Plain right on our doorstep. Depending on your size you’re welcome to ride one of our horses/ponies or you can hire one from the local stable a 10-minute walk away. We're happy to give a lift to the nearest railway station, 5 minutes drive away, this will get you to London in 90 minutes. Theres a bus service at the end of our drive which will get you to Salisbury in 45 minutes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have open WiFi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a small paddock next to the garden where a camper an can be parked

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 715922872778