Creative Music & Art Community at Lake, 1.5 Hours from New York City, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 856 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    48  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi Hola Salut Selam Ciao and welcome to our Workaway profile page! 2020 will be our 5th year of hosting Workawayers from many different countries, including Mexico, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Austria, India, Brazil, Iran, England, Scotland, Australia and Ireland, and we hope to expand that list!

    We operate an ARTIST COMMUNITY in New Jersey. There are often bands, musicians, artists, and writers in residence. Volunteers and guests can improve their English, take a cooking class, do arts and crafts, or play a musical instrument. There is a real community vibe here and most of all, we want to everybody to have FUN and LIVE IN HARMONY! We follow an early 60's communal hippie lifestyle. This is a quiet place near a lake. There's a lot of nature here, a few shopping malls within 20 minutes' drive, and a couple of clubs on the lake shore with live music on weekends. There are opportunities for hiking and shopping excursions. If you are looking for a LOT of action and noise, you may be more comfortable in a city environment. Our busiest time is from April through November. We're looking for positive people with a peaceful vibe. The mood here is good for meditation or creativity (writing, playing music, drawing, etc.). It's a great place to relax and unwind in your free time.

    We offer a stay of 3-6 weeks, or sometimes longer for experienced volunteers with excellent feedback or excellent work references.

    You must be OVER 21 with positive Workaway feedback OR A WORK REFERENCE. We are seeking: musicians, a yogi, filmmakers, visual artists or performing artists. We also value those who are good at gardening and maintenance projects, who care a lot about health and well being and our planet, and who are flexible, care about others, and have an easygoing personality.

    We are somewhat dog friendly but we have to discuss it before you bring one. Due to allergies, we regret that we cannot host cats.

    Please read our ENTIRE profile carefully before you contact us. We will respond ONLY if you have answered the posted questions below. American Workawayers have specific questions they must answer. Thank you!

    PLEASE INCLUDE IN YOUR MESSAGE:
    (1) What CHORES would you be willing to do?
    (2) What date can you arrive? What date will you depart?
    (3) Do you have a driver's license?
    (4) What is your level of English?
    (5) Are you over 21 years of age?
    (6) How would you feel about camping out in a tent or a trailer in the warmer months?
    (7) Do you play any musical instruments?
    (8) What SKILLS and CULTURAL EXCHANGE can you offer our community?

    Additional questions for AMERICAN WORKAWAYERS: Why do you want to be here? We give preference to artists and musicians who really need our facilities to develop a music or art project. What do you have to offer others? Can you represent American culture from your region? Are you willing to attend community dinners and events, which we take the time and effort to create for everyone's enjoyment? This is separate from work exchange hours and can occupy another 10 hours per week of your free time. If you don't want to participate, then please consider a different Workaway.

    We will reply to all inquiries that provide literate responses to our questions. *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️A Skype webcam interview and a scan of your passport or identification is required. We also require international medical insurance, which can be purchased through a travel insurance plan. If you have no feedback on Workaway, please be prepared to provide the name and phone number of a person who can recommend you and tell us how you live and work in a communal situation.*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    If you are lazy, selfish, and just looking for a free place to crash, or if you are difficult, complicated, high maintenance, a chronic whiner, or ultra conservative, please look for another host!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you need to improve your English in a real work-and-play situation, THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE! We offer lots of English practice and sit-down English classes if you want them.

    Musicians, we have 2 full rehearsal studios and lots of instruments to play with ... guitars, basses, keyboard, piano, drums, and even a mandolin, ukelele, cello and a sax. We're musicians who can coach you and give you the experience of playing in a band.

    For artists, there is an Art Garage which is great for large art projects in the warmer months. Also, there are many light and bright areas for drawing and painting all over the property. If you are interested, we can teach you lots of crafts, including decoupage, tie dye, crochet, sewing, furniture upcycling, and lots of other projects. We have many crafting supplies. The best time for crafting in the house is during winter season.

    We love practicing foreign languages, especially Spanish, Italian, French, Turkish, German and Arabic.

    We're making short videos about everything in this section for our web site and social media. We can always use input about that.

    We also love cultural recipe exchanges and entertaining. You will learn etiquette at community dinners -- for instance, how to set the table and make polite conversation with guests. If you want to learn about American regional cooking, we have an apron and a knife available for your use :-). Take a turn cooking dinner and share a recipe from your country or region.

    We recycle and repurpose everything possible here and you are going to learn a lot about how we try our best to take care of the environment and our Earth. We strive to leave a light footprint on our planet.

  • Help

    Help

    Here are the lists of chores we all do:

    FREQUENT: Yard help (groundskeeping outdoors) and painting in spring/summer/fall seasons. Cleaning and organizing, general errands, housework, general maintenance, snow removal in winter season

    OCCASIONAL: Internet marketing, making short YouTube videos to promote our community, organizing items to be sold for fundraising purposes

    We usually work between 10 AM and 4 PM, Monday through Friday, with an hour break for lunch. In summer, because of the heat, help hours may be moved earlier (9-3 or 8-2). You will usually be free on weekends and we expect you to be independent, including purchasing your own food and feeding yourself, during your free days. Occasionally we could use your help for a special party, concert, or event in the evening or during the weekend.

    Healthful foods are provided on the days you help us, including vegetarian and vegan options. All food preparation, cooking and cleanup is shared, and these chores are NOT considered helping hours. They are community dinners that are important for the cultural exchange aspect of this program. If you are on a special diet, we will provide some of those foods, within reason, but expect to prepare them yourself in your free time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, Italian, Turkish, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our artist community consists of 3 homes and a trailer. The best accommodations are given to Workawayers who are willing to help 25 hours per week. During spring, summer and fall, when we are quite full, there are many types of accommodations: Private bedroom, shared bedroom for couples or friends, sofa/couch in shared apartment, bed in trailer, air mattress in our office, or tent camping if we are very full. During winter, there is always a private bedroom available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please see the Cultural Exchange section for all the things there are to do on our property in your free time.

    This is a lake community where there are recreational opportunities all year round (swimming, boating, fishing, ice skating). We are near mountains for hiking. There is plenty of shopping and some night life on weekends, too.

    We are located 1 hour 15 minutes west of New York City. Volunteers often take the bus there on Saturday morning and return Sunday evening. We strongly suggest obtaining sone references on other travel platforms if you want to find free or cheap overnight accommodations in New York City. It is otherwise VERY EXPENSIVE to stay overnight in NYC.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

2nd Annual Hippie Fest 2019
The Art Garage
Studio M
Mercedes & Andrew 2019
June 2018 Workawayers at Community Dinner
A triple birthday party!
April 2017 Workawayers and host
Noemi lived in the trailer for 6 weeks
Mercedes and Andrew 2015
Deer in the back yard
The main kitchen, where it all happens!
Lobster festival in August
Winter sunrise

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)





























Host ref number: 698657225279

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more