Learn from me about the history of the shepherds of the Sierra de Cazorla, Spain



Favourited 129 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    Hi to everyone!!

    I_m a 51 years old shephard of goats and sheeps and I live up into Sierra de Cazorla, at 1350 m inside the biggest natural park of Spain. My herd is compound now by 300 sheeps and 100 goats. I also have horses, donkeys, hens,pidgeons, dogs and cats and a big ecologic vegetable garden that I work in a traditional way. The closest neighbor lives 1 hour walking. The goats and the sheeps give birth 2 times per year. The daily routine is controlling and taking care of the animals and working in the garden depending on the season. I have plenty of rooms for visitors and workawayers. I have solar cells for energy and light. Because of height it_s not so hot in summer and it can snow in winter. The landscape is precious, high mountain with oaks and pinewood forest, and a big variety of wild animals. To contact me it doesn_t mind the language, I can translate.. Thank you. Best regards.

    Hola a tod@s!

    Soy un pastor de 51 años de cabras y ovejas y vivo en lo alto de la Sierra de Cazorla, a 1350 m de altura dento del parque natural más grande de España. Mi rebaño cuenta actualmente con unas 300 ovejas y 100 cabras. También tengo caballos, burros, gallinas, perros y gatos y un gran huerto ecológico que trabajo de forma tradicional. El vecino más proximo está a 1h de distancia caminando. Las cabras y ovejas paren dos veces al año. Las tareas rutinarias/diarias son el cuidado de las cabras y ovejas y de los demás animales (caballos, burros, gallinas, perros, gatos) así como el cuidado y trabajo en la huerta según lo que requiere la temporada. Tengo varias habitaciones para visitas y voluntarios. Tengo placas solares para la electricidad así como un generador eléctrico. Por la altura no hace mucho calor en verano aunque en invierno puede nevar. El paisaje es precioso, alta montaña con robles y pinos y una gran variedad de plantas y animales silvestres. No hablo nada más que español, pero sé hacerme entender.Poneros en contacto conmigo en el idioma que queráis.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in a very old house in the Sierra de Cazorla (the house of my great-grandparents). Here I grew up and lived all my life. By volunteering at home, travelers can learn a lot about the history of the shepherds of the Sierra de Cazorla. How was his life, how they lived years ago and how it has changed until today. They will learn the work with and management of herds of goats and obese who live loose on the mountain, as well as the care of the other farm animals that I have. They will also learn about traditional land work.

    Vivo en una casa muy antigua de la Sierra de Cazorla (la casa de mis bisabuelos). Aquí me he criado y he vivido toda mi vida. Estando de voluntario en mi casa los viajeros pueden aprender mucho sobre la historia de los pastores de la Sierra de Cazorla. Como fue su vida, como vivian años atrás y como ha cambiado hasta hoy en día. Van a aprender el trabajo con y manejo de rebaños de cabras y obejas que viven sueltos por la montaña, así como el cuidado de los demás animales de granja que tengo. Aprenderán también sobre el trabajo tradicional de la tierra.

  • Help


    Above all I need help with the animals and in the garden. Sometimes they are also under construction or renovation (for example of the house, animal stables that need renovation, etc.). In the garden, it would be works to prepare the land, sow / plant and harvest whatever it touches according to the season. I work the garden in a traditional and ecological way. The care of the animals consists of feeding them, cleaning the estblos, as well as helping me in the care of the herds of goats and sheep who walk loose through the mountains (watch them, gather them, take them to the house or to the stable when necessary etc. .) In January / February stop the goats and obey them. At this time a very important job is the help in childbirth and the care of the young.

    Sobre todo necesito ayuda con los animales y en la huerta. A veces tambíen en construcción o reformas (por ejemplo de la casa, establos de los animales que necesitan reforma etc.)
    En la huerta serian trabajos de preparar la tierra, sembrar/plantar y cosechar lo que toque según la temporada. Trabajo la huerta de forma tradicional y en ecológico.
    El cuidado de los animales consiste en darles de comer, limpiar los estblos, así como ayudarme en el cuidado de los rebaños de cabras y obejas que caminan sueltos por la sierra (vigilarlos, juntarlos, llevarlos a la casa o al establo cuando es necesario etc.) En enero/febrero paren las cabras y las obejas. En esta epoca un trabajo muy importante es la ayuda en los partos y el cuidado de las crias.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Puedo enseñar español.

  • Accommodation


    I have two additional rooms in the house for volunteers. Although they are attached to the house there is a separate entrance for the rooms of the volunteers. In general we usually cook and eat always all together. I adapt to any diet that volunteers have.

    Tengo dos habitaciónes adicionales a la casa para los voluntarios. Aunque estan pegadas a la casa hay una entrada separada para las habitaciónes de los voluntarios.
    En general solemos cocinar y comer siempre todos juntos. Me adapto a cualquier dieta que los voluntarios tengan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in the Sierra de Cazorla. You can take beautiful walks in the mountains. The nearest town is Burunchel, it is 2 hours walking from my house. Buses to Cazorla leave from Burunchel. That is a very pretty town to visit.

    Vivo en plena Sierra de Cazorla. Se pueden dar preciosos paseos por la sierra. El puebo más proximo es Burunchel, está a 2 horas caminando desde mi casa. Desde Burunchel salen autobuses a Cazorla. Que es un pueblo muy bonito para visitar.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 773989741873