live in paid work opportunity helping care for my 13 year old special needs daughter, in Farnham, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my partner and I and our daughter moved from London 3 years ago and have built a beautiful house in a one and a half acre plot in Farnham, Surrey. We still have lots to do here and my partner is continuing to work on the house at this difficult time.

    I am looking for some help with my daughter. She is 13 and has severe learning difficulties. She is non-verbal and can display some autistic like behaviours and also challenging behaviours). I am looking for someone who has experienced this kind of difference and behaviour and would feel able to help me look after her. Amelie loves vibrant and energetic people who are playful and patient too. She has had many carers over the years and they have formed very loving bonds with her in spite of her challenges and differences.

    Ideally, I would love someone who has experienced this kind of difference before and has a confident personality. You would need to be quite fit and energetic as she is getting quite big and strong now. You would need to be prepared to help with personal care as she has no self care skills. I would be around to guide you but my intention is to have a break from the care.

    We have built a modern self contained flat over the garage where we could host one person or a couple. The flat is 50 square metres, has a large living/kitchen area a bathroom with bath and shower and a medium sized bedroom. You would be able to be independent from us as well as being together. Offering a generous salary and accommodation and this would suit a driver.

    We live about 2 miles from Farnham which is a lovely historic town in Surrey. You can reach the town by bus or walking ( about 25/30 minutes) We live in a semi rural setting lots of space and open countryside nearby yet close to the town, the best of both worlds. You can walk out from the house into lovely walking countryside.,

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Friendly environment, nice location, learn about disability and difference, gardening and improve English.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Spending time with my daughter. Playing, walking outside, entertaining her in anyway you can. She enjoys music, attention, watching her favourite dvds, swimming and we have a heated pool here.
    Personal care as she is not toilet trained. Bathing, dressing, food preparation. Some kind of experience of care work would be helpful here.

  • Languages spoken

    Bulgarian: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Independent well equipped 1 bedroom flat small double bedroom, spacious living room with open plan kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Farnham is a historic town close to the Surrey hills. it is about 2 miles from our house so can be reached by foot and there is an hourly bus service as well. You can travel easily to London Waterloo by train within 55 minutes and can travel around by buses or trains to nearby towns such as Guildford,and historic Winchester.
    We are a non smoking family and would ask for no smoking in our home. We respect other peoples backgrounds and beliefs and would ask for the same kind of attitude and acceptance of difference.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    7 hours 5 days a week. Paid work

the house October 2019
last years tomatoes
Host ref number: 697493511818