Enjoy this lovely part of the country and help around our place in Galway, west of Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We can offer a self-contained apartment for 2 people.
    We are a retired couple living in West of Ireland on Gaway Bay. We'd like some help for 2 weeks with general maintenance - indoor and out. Help would be up to 5 hours a day/5 days a week.
    A very comfortable apartment is attached to our home - there is only one bedroom so a couple would be ideal.
    We'd prefer that Workawayers would join us for at least one meal each day and we'd be very happy to spend time helping them to feel at home and showing them around this beautiful part of the world.
    We live close to the historically famous Burren (with its amazing limestone formations), Cliffs of Moher, and Galway City!
    Our village is small in size but the community is varied and most welcoming. There are many talented people living here and you are likely to find all kinds of music sessions going on at any one of the 8 pubs! Musical Workawayers would be well advised to bring their preferred instrument as they'll be warmly welcomed to any of these sessions!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have lots of travel experience ourselves so appreciate the need for travellers to feel comfortable as visitors to a new area. We have plenty of local experience too and can guarantee a memorable visit to those who come willing to help out in exchange for our time, ensuring they see and experience as much as possible in the wonderful West of Ireland!
    We would not be deterred by visitors who have little English - tho' we have no skills in other languages ourselves. Indeed we have struggled many times to understand and be understood at home and abroad and found only positive results with fun and laughter to relax the situation!

  • Help

    Help

    We'd like help to prepare our place for the Summer season. Indoor help such as deep cleaning, loft clearance, painting, some cooking - for meals we'll share. Outdoor garden maintenance, planting, clearing away the winter debris. We'd be delighted to hear any suggestions/initiative on the part of the Workawayers so someone with flair and enthusiasm is preferred.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a beautiful self contained apartment. Its all ground floor, opening onto our garden. There is a newly modernised kitchen/living area with washing machine, dishwasher, fridge etc. The bathroom has a wet room shower and toilet. There is a double bed in the separate bedroom. There is a TV and wifi, lots of books, games and the great outdoors!
    We live in our house attached to the apartment and would hope to spend time - at least one meal - each day with the Workawayers. For breakfast etc. they may prefer to get their own meal and we'll ensure they have all they need for this.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is the opportunity to spend time off walking (organised walks in the Burren etc.) , sightseeing, swimming in the sea, playing/listening to live music, visiting friendly local pubs, yoga, badminton and visiting the beautiful city of Galway. There is a bus each day to the city. Whenever possible we can drive visitors for sighteseeing etc. We don't have a car to offer but there is a possibility I can provide bicycles (only to experienced cyclists though as the roads can be very busy and are often narrow).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 696459767248