Help us out near Carnarvon Gorge National Park

Country

Australia

Favourited 187 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    208

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My sister (Bloss) and I (Rhu) and my partner (Robyn) have a 13,500 acre beef cattle property (Huntly) in central Queensland not far from Carnarvon Gorge National Park. Between us we run about 2000 cattle. We mostly use horses for mustering cattle but also have motorbikes and quad bikes if needed. My sister lives full time on the farm and I travel up regularly from the Gold Coast where I have an international development consulting firm. We also have a 45 acre farm in northern NSW.

    We have had many volunteer workers over the past 10 years many of whom have said that the time spent on our farm has been the highlight of their visit to Australia. You will be welcomed as one of the family.

    We care passionately about the environment and as can be seen in the photos we have carefully preserved our trees and have an ongoing tree planting programme.

    Because we are quite far from the coast (9 hours drive from Brisbane) it is best if you are able to stay for at least 4 weeks. This also allows you get to know and become part of the farm routine. We find that slightly older Workawayers (say 25+), especially couples, fit in well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    A variety of work is available including cattle mustering and handling, fence construction and repair, and other day-to-day farm jobs.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Thai: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 2 houses close together so good-quality accommodation is always available. For the adventurous wanting to get closer to nature we have a semi-open sleepout.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rhu travels regularly from the Gold Coast to the farm (and back) and may be able to provide transport (by car or small aircraft). Alternately, you can drive yourself if you have a vehicle or take the bus to Moura where we can pick you up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day









Host ref number: 694937246376