Help us to prepare our land for our new house in Brisbane, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 - My wife, Sabine, our children Maia (13) and Felix (11) and myself, Peter. Oh and there is our dog too, a gorgeous Labradoodle. We live in a Queenslander in the heart of West End just across the river from the City. Sabine is German (and recently naturalised) and I am Australian

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our kids reckon they have a lot to teach adults so that's a start.

    Sabine and I are professional and long time residents of Brisbane and so know the area well. West End is interesting being very culturally diverse.

    West End is also an area experiencing significant urban redevelopment due principally to it's proximity to infrastructure and the city which is interesting from a social and planning perspective.

  • Help

    Help

    We are about to build a new house on the river at Highgate Hill which is 5 minutes from where we live.

    Our immediate goal is to landscape the block with includes planting trees and ground covers, installing irrigation and erosion matting, perhaps retaining walls and general maintenance.

    There is also the opportunity to provide help at an environmental education establishment situated in the rainforest of the Border Ranges about 90 minutes south of Brisbane. We have been closely involved with this wonderful community for a decade.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house is a big Queenslander with views north east to the city. A volunteer will have a spacious room and will share a bathroom with the kids. Our hope is that we will all be as a family so where possible we will eat together and keep the house sip-shape together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is very close (3 minute walk) to the heart of West End with restaurants, night clubs and shops. The Queensland Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA), the Queensland Museum,the Queensland Art Gallery and the Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC) are in South Brisbane (the adjacent suburb). Public transport is excellent and includes train, bus and ferry.

    We have had a workaday volunteer stay with us previously which was a delight. He integrated seamlessly with our family and lifestyle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Sabine and kids
Our pool in the back yard
Our house in West End, Brisbane
Help us to landscape this beautiful riverfront site




Host ref number: 688777911482