A great opportunity for someone who loves dogs and outdoor life in Niemisel, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 93 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    PLEASE READ THE WHOLE PROFILE TO SEE IF THIS IS SOMETHING FOR YOU.

    We are Erik and Sanne and together with our 30 dogs we live our dream life!
    We live 80 km north of Lulea in a small village (Krokträsk) in the middle of the forests next to some lakes.

    Our huskies are our colleagues, best friends and family! They all need good care and a lot of love, every single day! Feeding, cleaning dog yards, socializing, walking with the puppies and retired dogs, play time etc.

    Every season is different with us:
    Winter (December - April): We focus on our dogsledding tours for tourists! Next to that there is always a lot of work in preparing trails, shoveling snow, making dog-snacks etc.
    Spring (April, May): Sometimes we can still go out sledding, but we mainly focus on cleaning up everything after the season.
    Summer (June - August): We give the dogs play-time, walks and sometimes some training runs. Almost every summer we have puppies that need a lot of love. Next to that this is the time for building, repairs and maintenance.
    Autumn (September - November): We focus on training the dogs so they are fit for winter season and next to that we prepare for the upcoming winter.

    You don't need experience with dogs, but it is a must that you want to spend time around them. We will learn you everything that is needed. It is most important that we can trust you around the dogs!

    In winter we share our passion for dogsledding and nature to tourists from all over the world. We take care of the guests and everything around these tours ourselves, you are not expected to help in our company in any way.

    We want to see motivation and flexibility. The days can and will be very long and most of the jobs will be physical. We can guarantee you have fun during this time and that you will learn a lot, but you will be tired at the end of the day :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great opportunity for you who loves dogs and outdoor life!

    You can learn everything about sled dogs, from daily routines, training the dogs, training the puppies to become sled dogs and driving your own team.

    Next to that you can go out explore the nature around us. Go hiking, berry picking, wildlife watching, fishing, snow-shoe walking, ...

    If you are a city-person that needs city-life once in a while, this might not be the place for you. We don't go to the city very often!

  • Help

    Help

    You need to speak fluent English or Dutch.
    Not suitable for vegans.
    Not suitable for smokers.

    We run a small company and in winter we share our passion for dogsledding and nature to tourists from all over the world. We take care of the guests and everything around these tours ourselves, you are not expected to help in our company in any way. You will be here to share this lifestyle with us and our dogs!

    You don't need experience, we can teach you the things that are needed and that you want to learn. We only expect that you come here with the right motivation!

    Every year and every season is different.
    We can discuss what specific tasks we will do during your time here over email.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You live together with us in our house.
    You have your own small bed-room and a small living-room that you share with other volunteers or interns.
    We share bathroom and kitchen. You can use our sauna once a week if you want.

    We expect that you keep everything tidy and clean. We don't live in a big house, so everyone needs to do their part in keeping everything tidy so it's nice to live here for everyone.
    We share the responsibilities in the house: cleaning, doing dishes, getting firewood, cooking etc.

    Food is included. You can eat together with us and we expect that you help with cooking. Let us know if you have a special diet. If this involves pricey and very special things, you need to buy these yourself.

    We don't have unlimited internet at our house. In the past our internet has been misused so we don't share our internet with our volunteers anymore, only in emergencies or special cases.
    You can use your own mobile data.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Just write us if you have any questions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 688274337488