Help on my ranch and experience beautiful Patagonian wilderness near Puerto Natales, Chile

  • Chile
  • Favourited 103 times
  • Last activity: 8 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    The ranch is on the Antonio Varas Peninsula in front of the city of Puerto Natales, 70 km south of the Torres del Paine National Park and 240 km north of Punta Arenas. To access it you need to cross the channel that separates it from Puerto Natales and then a one-hour drive. The ranch has an area of 5'360 ha and its landscapes contemplate meadows, forests, mountains and a sea coast. I, Ricardo, live alone on the ranch. A few times a month my daughter visits me for a weekend.

    La Estancia está en la Península Antonio Varas frente a la ciudad Puerto Natales, 70 km sur del Parque Nacional Torres del Paine y 240 km norte de Punta Arenas.
    Para acceder necesita cruzar el canal que la separa de Puerto Natales y luego un viaje de una hora en vehículo. La Estancia tiene una superficie de 5’360 ha y sus paisajes contemplan praderas, bosques, montañas y una costa de mar. Yo, Ricardo, vive solo en la Estancia. Unas veces por mes mi hija me visita por un fin de semana.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can help in a completely natural environment. Your daily tasks consist of a wide variety of activities. In addition, the ranch is the last cattle ranch in the Peninsula. You will benefit from a rare glimpse of this rural life. I live alone in the Ranch and I am very interested in learning facts about other cultures and countries. How do people live in your country? Tell me about your experiences. In your free time you can occupy it in: trekking, fishing, swimming,... enjoy this Patagonian nature!

    Puedes ayudar en un ambiente totalmente natural. Tu trabajo diario consiste de una gran variedad de actividades. Además la Estancia es la última Estancia ganadera en la Península. Te beneficiarás de un vistazo singular de este vida rural. Yo vivo solo en la Estancia y estoy muy interesado en aprender hechos sobre otras culturas y países. ¿Como vive la gente en tu país? Cuentame de tu experiencias. En tu tiempo libre puedes ocuparlo en: hacer trekking, pescar, nadar,… disfrutar este naturaleza patagonica!

  • Help


    Livestock activity consists of raising sheep and cattle. Your tasks as a volunteer will be to help Ricardo, the owner of the Ranch, in handling the animals, maintenance and repairs of buildings and fences. It will also be necessary to help in the kitchen and cleaning of the house. The period is from August to May (included). The help day is more or less five hours per day with two days off per week.

    La actividad ganadera consiste en crianza de ovejas y vacunos. Tu trabajo como voluntario será ayudar a Ricardo, el propietario de la Estancia, en el manejo de los animales, mantenimiento y reparaciones de construcciones y cercos. Además será necesario ayudar en la cocina y el aseo de la casa. El período es de Agosto hasta Mayo (incluidos). La jornada de trabajo es más o menos cinco horas por día con dos dias libres por semana.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    There is no WiFi in the Estancia, but as a general rule there is internet reception. There is hot water and electricity. The food is common. Preferably non-vegetarian/-a or vegan/-a. Communication is only in Spanish, so you need a basic knowledge of the Spanish language. Accommodation can be in the main house or in a cabin close to it.

    En la Estancia no hay WiFi, pero por regla general hay recepción de internet. Hay agua caliente y electricidad. La comida es común. De preferencia no vegetariano/-a o vegano/-a. La comunicación es sólo en español, por eso necesitas un conocimiento básico del idioma español. El alojamiento puede ser en la casa principal o en una cabaña cercana de esta.

  • What else ...

    What else ...


    Livestock Ranch in Chilean Patagonia


    The ranch is on the Peninsula Antonio Varas, opposite of Puerto Natales, 70 km south of Torres del Paine national park and 240 km north of Punta Arenas. It takes a short boat crossing and an hour-long drive by car to get there from Puerto Natales.

    I live alone on the Estancia. During the weekends my daughter visits me sometimes.


    Help on the ranch centers on the livestock, that is, sheep and cows. As volunteer you will help the proprietor Ricardo with handling the animals, maintenance and repair of infrastructure, kitchen-tasks, some housekeeping and more.


    Volunteers are welcome in the warmer months between August and May. During your day you can expect to help out for five hours, with two free day per week.

    Free time

    In your time off you can hike, fish or swim surrounded by beautiful, sprawling Patagonian wilderness. It is one of the last authentic, non-touristic ranches in the region. Therefore you will get a chance to live a lifestyle unique to the area. Since I don‘t get to travel a lot myelf, I am very interested to hear stories from you!

    Good to know

    - Hot water
    - Electricity
    - No WiFi but cell reception
    - Meals are shared
    - Preferably non-vegetarian or vegan
    - Communication is only in Spanish, basics are therefore a prerequisite
    - Accommodation is either in the main house or a small hut nearby

    Any questions? Don’t hesitate to contact me. I’m looking forward to meeting you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 684685941371

Feedback (1)


Cultural exchange and share experiences in Carretera Austral, Hornopirén, Chile
Working with horses and trailrides in southern Chile