Help us in the garden and with our animals in La Laja, La Gomera, Canary Islands

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 174 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    61.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a small mountain village in the center of the island of La Gomera. La Laja is 11 kilometers from San Sebastian away, has about 50 inhabitants and is green all year round thanks to its proximity to the Garajonay National Park. From here hiking trails lead to the most beautiful parts of La Gomera. Our family members are two people, two cats, seven chickens and two dogs.
    Zdenka was born in Prague, studied botany and German in Hamburg and then did various communication jobs until she changed her life. Since then she has dedicated herself to organic farming, horticulture and horticultural therapy. In september 2018 she went by bike from Hamburg to La Gomera to stay here.
    Kay is constructor of boats, he started to sail the world with his self-made catamaran in 1997, but fell in love with the Canary Islands and stayed. For 13 years now he has been restoring old stone houses in La Laja, building furniture from old wood and making smoked meet.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Better understanding of the island of La Gomera
    Learn to build dry stone walls
    Woodwork
    Insight into agriculture and permaculture in a completely different climate than on the mainland
    Contact with animals
    Increasing your physical powers
    La Laja is a great starting point for hikes in the National Park

  • Help

    Help

    You can help us with the further development of our site, including:
    building dry stone walls, planting trees, woodwork
    As well as in the care of our animals, garden and in agriculture:
    Sowing, picking, multiplying plants, weeding, harvesting and processing fruits and vegetables, cooking

    Please send us also your phone number to get in contact with you

  • Languages spoken

    Czech: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our mountain is about 2 hectares. You can either camp and use the shared infrastructure, or you sleep in a separate house, or in the main house in your own room. We cook together, mainly the products of our fields.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We like to have two weeks stay as a trial period, so people being already around Canaries are preferred.

    There is a public bus to La Laja from San Sebastian twice a day. From San Sebastian you can take a bus to many of La Gomeras towns and places. From La Laja you have many hiking paths to the Nationalpark. We can help you find you way to the beautiful nature in La Gomera.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Ca 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 678972392197