Looking for CAD and web designers to help with alternative to petrol car in Joure, the Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 114 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! My name is Hidde, a proud member of the University of Joure experiment. We will admit, we don't have a clue what the future will bring but maybe you can help us shaping it!

    Let me explain why Joure is such a great place to work. I live in Joure a 'Vlecke' or township in the Dutch province Fryslân, with beautiful skies inimitable painted by van Ruisdael and van Gogh. Our landscape is like art with occasionally a village or a small city popping up from the skyline. Leeuwarden is our capitol city, 2018 European cultural city! Did you know I and many people speak a very rare language 'Frisian' it's one of the closest related languages to English.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Help

    Help

    As of today we are looking for cool and able CAD designer (Solidworks), responsive web designer and/or skilled communicator. As a volunteer you will assist with building a full scale, free and open source electrical power-assisted recumbent bike that just works! Ultimate success will be when our design is forked many times on the internet and let the (online) community participate in creating the ultimate alternative to a comfortable petrol car :-)

    We act as a local incubator, hosting start-ups with very little overhead. Our office is uniquely situated down town Joure next to a beautiful park and town hall, it's just 5 minutes biking from my home! We have made it possible to pay our rent by being ambassador of environmental policy in our municipality, in other words we made CO2 reduction a valuable currency to pay our rent!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Western Frisian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a very comfortable maisonette i.e. i rent the the second and top floor. The first floor (or ground floor) is rented by a senior. The accommodation I can give is a visitor's room with a single ready made bed including a closet for all your personal belongings. We share the living room, kitchen, balcony and bathroom and two toilets, one of them upstairs in the bathroom. I'm sure you love it!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My routine is very simple: Monday and Tuesday I work. Tuesday evening circuit training, you can join! Wednesday I watch a family member. Thursday morning I work and afternoon I'm occupied. Friday morning yoga, afternoon creative/work time. Saturday and Sunday mornings rowing (sports), afternoon free.

    I expect you to work on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday morning and Friday afternoon. Wednesday you can either join me or have free time. During the weekends you have endless possibilities for 1 day / 2 days trips! I can show you the perfect spot to hitch hike and have public transport as backup :-)

    You can explore our province by sailing, hiking and lets not forget, with a bicycle. We have a infrastructure with many, many miles of dedicated cycling roads you can safely use even with very popular electric bikes. If you want so visit museums or tourist spots, I can assure you Joure is well connected including Amsterdam.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day average, 4-5 days a week


Host ref number: 678193582962