Help build a tipi and learn about ecological agriculture in Sainte-Marie-Salomé, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 67 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live alone on a farmhouse. Currently only chickens and cats. A few pigs in the summer. Make gardening for self-sufficiency. Surpluses go to A Transition House. Making some maple syrup in the spring. From May to September, I receive since 2007, one day every two weeks, young adults from Montreal who come to learn about farm work. I studied arts and the environment. I am involved in my community at the local library and on an environment committee. The work to come is mainly in the field of construction and renovation. From March indoor sowing. Then from May work in the garden. I have been welcoming young travelers from all over the world since 1995. More than 120 young travelers have visited the site to date. For stays varying from one week to 5 months. 3 bedrooms to accommodate these travelers. We cook meals together. Varied food. I expect 20 to 25 hours of help per week. Of Acadian descent in an environment attached to its traditions (Assomption sash, traditional music) possibility of swimming and cycling during the summer. Traditional music festival at the end of July. I speak French, English, basic Dutch, beginning of German

    Je vis seul sur une fermette. Actuellement que des poules et des chats. L'été quelques cochons.
    Culture maraîchère dans un but autosuffisance. Les surplus vont à
    Une maison de transition.
    Fabrication d'un peu de sirop d'érable au printemps.
    De mai à septembre, je reçois depuis 2007 , un jour aux deux semaines ,des jeunes adultes de Montréal qui viennent s'initier aux travaux de ferme.
    J'ai étudié les arts et l'environnement.
    Je suis impliqué dans ma communauté à la bibliothèque locale et sur un comité environnement .
    Les travaux à venir sont dans le domaine de la construction et rénovation surtout. À partir de mars les semis intérieurs. Puis à partir de mai le travail au jardin.
    J'accueille depuis 1995 des jeunes voyageurs de partout dans le monde.
    Au delà de 120 jeunes voyageurs sont passés y site à date. Pour des séjours variants de une semaine à 5 mois.
    3 chambres pour accueillir ces voyageurs. On prépare les repas ensemble. Nourriture variée. Je m'attend à 20 à 25 heures d'aide par semaine.
    De descendance acadienne dans un milieu attaché à ses traditions ( fléché, musique traditionnelle)
    possibilité de natation et vélo durant l'été. Festival de musique traditionnelle fin juillet.
    Je parle francais, anglais, base en néerlandais, début d'allemand

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    History of canada, Québec, region. Culture. Traditionnal music . Possibility to be volonteer at the trad music festival nearby at the end of july.
    Learn about the process of maple syrup making, and participate to it in march-april.
    Learn about local culture. The deportation of acadians in the area. Their
    Handcraft unique in the world and how to make the Assomption sash. Acadian festival beginning of august.

    Possibility to learn about ecological agriculture ( permaculture, solar passive energy, etc)
    meeting with friends, neighbour. Possibility to get involved into local activities as the library or Citizen environmental activities.

    Histoire du Québec du Canada et de la région. Coutumes culturelles. Musique traditionnelle. Festival de musique traditionnelle fin juillet. Possibilité de s'y impliquer comme bénévole.
    Comprendre toute la fabrication du sirop d'érable et possibilité de participer à la fabrication en mars-avril. Cuisine avec le sirop d'érable.

    Apprendre sur la culture locale. La déportation des acadiens et leur implantation dans la région. Leur artisanat unique au monde le fléché. Possibilité d'apprendre à flécher. Festival canadien début août.

    Possibilité d'apprendre sur l'agriculture écologique ( permaculture, énergie solaire passive etc)
    rencontre d'amis, voisins. Possibilité de s'impliquer dans des activités locales.bibliothèque, corvées citoyennes reliées à l'environnement.

  • Help

    Help

    20 to 25 hours a week and a helping hand to prepare meals. Various construction works (bridge over a stream, preparation of framework to build a tipi). It is physical and precision tasks.
    A small Brook to build over a Creek. A frame for a tipi. Different small projects of renovation inside the house depends on the abilities.
    A lot of gardening during the summertime

    20 à 25 hres semaine et un coup de main pour préparer les repas. Différents travaux de construction (pont sur un ruisseau, préparation de charpente pour monter un tipi). C'est du travail physique et de précision. Différent petits travaux de rénovation possibles a l'ntérieure selon les habilités des voyageurs.
    Beaucoup iii p de jardinage durant l"été.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Dutch: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in the same house (3 gestions) we prepare the meals and eat together. Apetizer before supper.

    On vit dans la même maison ( 3 chambres disponibles) on prépares les repas et on mange ensemble. Apéro avant souper.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bikes.bus for Montréal and Joliette 1.5 km away. Outside skatering at the village(5 km). Possibility to skate on the river in Joliette ( 4.5 km long) when the winther is good for It. Close by pound to swim in the summertime.

    Vélos disponibles. Bus Montréal Joliette à 1.5 km. Patinoire extérieure à 5 km. Possibilité de patiner sur la rivière à Joliette ( 4.5 km de long) quand la température le permet. Étang à proximité pour nager durant l'été .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 677268937971