1 / 5

Gardening help and general maintenance on a family farm in Far North Queensland, Australia

  • Favourited 79 times
  • Last activity: 17 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family managing a small beautiful farm in tropical North Queensland. Our property has large sections of rain forest, with a creek, waterfall, and swimming hole (great for hot days). We have Platypus and Cassowary on our property too. We farm cattle, sheep, ducks, and chickens.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a friendly family who are establishing a self-sufficient farm. We are learning new sustainable farming techniques and are happy to share these techniques. We are also happy to listen to your experience of other farms.

    We are part of a community of people with different expert knowledge, including Medicine, Engineering, Botany, Timber Production, Public Health, Epidemiology, and Animal Husbandry.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Duties include general maintenance including painting, mowing, and vegetable gardening.

    Animal husbandry includes helping feeding cattle, sheep, chickens, and ducks.
    We require help with weed management. This mostly includes preparing land for tree planting and managing weeds (brambles, lantana and navua sedge).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very comfortable living inside the family home with own bedroom with double bed. the food will be shared with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is an extremely beautiful area with lots of national parks and scenic places to visit. Cairns is 2 hrs away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 676661443856

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)