Help create a self-sufficient farm in the beautiful Camonica Valley, Italy

Country

Italy

new host  

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple of “young people inside” and we have recently bought an estate in the mountains. After some necessary renovations we finally moved into our new home and we have so many ideas and works we would like to do but we realized we need a hand! We have some chickens, 3 sheep and a donkey and the house cat. Our intention is to create a farm that is as natural and self-sufficient as possible over time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you will be able to get familiar with the Italian language, manage a chicken coop, collect wild herbs, recognize poisonous plants.
    Fabrizio speaks good English and with him you can understand each other and can help you improve your knowledge of the Italian language while Levi, who understands English quite well but has difficulty translating thoughts into words, would certainly benefit from listening to family conversations. :)
    Levi is interested in herbs and will be able to introduce you to some poisonous plants that she cultivates herself and other spontaneous ones that are excellent in the kitchen and for body care.
    It will then be fun to learn how to take care of the hens in our chicken coop and also want to learn how to manage a very small flock of sheep.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help help with outdoor arrangements, gardening, garden care and wood preparation.

    At the moment the most urgent work for which we need help is the construction of the external fence for which strong arms are needed :)

    We need to build a fence on our land (which is 1km in perimeter) to prevent sheep and donkey from straying in case they manage to get out of the nets. We have already started but it is a long job and a help would be really very useful :) The chicken coop needs some patches to avoid intrusions by wild animals, we are not very familiar with this type of work and help would be really precious.
    Being only two and having a lot of grass, we would need a hand to cut the hay, turn it and transport it to the barn.
    For the garden we intend to experiment with the method of the "elementary" garden, it is a non-tillage of the soil and the use of a thick hay mulch. It would be nice to experiment with someone :)
    To heat the house we have a fireplace and a stove in the kitchen, so we need help to go to our wood and cut some wood.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Italian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We will be happy to help you improve your Italian. Fabri speaks quite good English but has little opportunity to practice. Levi can understand the meaning of most of the speeches in English but has difficulty translating thoughts into words, being in contact with people who speak it daily would certainly help her.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house is on two floors, we have a room dedicated to guests, and the possibility of sleeping in an attic (it is a kind of Harry Potter type necessity room and there is no wooden floor, which is planned to build soon, to go up you have to use a ladder, not very comfortable, apart from that we think it will be a very nice place when we can to fix it permanently). There are two shared bathrooms. We are a couple, sometimes there are our two adult children. We have a cat used to being indoors. We do not smoke. Sometimes we eat meat. We cook Italian food, whenever possible with vegetables from our garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is at the foot of the Camonica Valley, famous for its rock carvings and the pyramids of Zone, the town overlooks the shores of Lake Iseo and the house is located in a quiet location, half an hour's drive from the town . You can take pleasant walks in nature and reach a beautiful refuge not far away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    we have access to the internet line even if unfortunately it is quite slow, given the position of the house

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 527562438368