Come and enjoy family life together in Barre des cévennes, France

Country

France

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/12/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey! We are Marjolaine and Frantz with our two young kids, Leyli (4 years old) and Tiliane (1 year old). We've been leaving in Barre des Cévennes for almost three years now. Frantz works 4 days a week as a botanist for the National Parc and Marjolaine is taking care of the kids and the house. We own two houses in a remote hamlet, 5 km away from the nearest village. It's very quiet & picturesque, surrounded with woodlands and pastures. We let grow and planted many trees, made different garden places, dry toilets, a compost heap etc . We recently had the visit of an Irish Family with their three kids who have stayed with us for 10 days, and it was such a nourishing experience on both sides that we thought we should just have people come more often.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is really a place where we try not to destroy nature, and preserve it as much as we can. So we use wood as a heater during winter, very little water in the summer, we rarely eat meat and all we buy is organic and local as much as we can etc etc . We like to learn and share skills on alternative parenting, home-schooling, recipes, botany & plant uses, gardening, tree care, grafting, permaculture, English language, rocket stove, life, joy etc

  • Help

    Help

    We will be very happy to host people who can stay with the kids, play, talk and share with them. We sometimes need help for cooking and gardening. There are many other tasks that we could decide together depending on your wishes or skills, like building an outside wooden table, building dry toilets for the house, an outside shower for the summer, weeding the garden, preparing sawing beds. But basically during the winter period it's mostly kids and cooking and sometimes other things.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Nepali: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Independent house next door to ours. It consists of two bedrooms, a main kitchen-living room and a small bathroom. The house has a wood burning stove, gas cooker and basic equipment for cooking and eating.
    What is best for us during winter time is that you cover expenses for food, wood and electricity. In exchange of housing we'll ask you for about 2 days of work per week.
    We live at an altitude of 900m so be ready to meet the cold at this time of the year.
    We'll be of course very happy to cook and eat together during the week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bikes to wander about (some need to be fixed). You can use our connection and our computer at home because we don't use the Wifi. Our phone can be used for calls within Europe. We live in the centre of a National Park so there are many many wonderful spots to discover.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day max, 2 days a week

Host ref number: 381772381719