Help unveil and celebrate the beauty of this amazing piece of land in central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/05/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My partner bought an amazing piece of land 2 years ago in central Portugal. Work has commenced with the wild swimming pool, composts loo’s, terraces rediscovered and we now need help to unveil and celebrate more of its beauty. We live 6 months here and 6 months in UK and are building a house here. We love the peace, the people, the landscape, the views, waterfalls & lakes, sunsets and rises - the food & wine, culture, freedom, inspiration, challenges and accomplishments and would like to share them with you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about wildlife and nature, about self development and community. You can practice languages - English, French & Português. Cook great food. Visit amazing places. Help Mother Nature. Meet wonderful people, relax, exercise and soak up the sunshiny life of Portugal. Work hard, learn or improve skills, be creative, discover and enjoy yourself.

  • Help

    Help

    Community and culture are very important to us. We work in nature and the land here has a rich biodiversity including natural and man made waterways, areas for food cultivation, natural living opportunities, wild and managed areas of appreciation and we need to create the infrastructure to care for the land and it’s visitors ~ specifically this year we would like to build outdoor kitchen/ cooking areas, wild treasure trails, places for rest and contemplation, showers, a meeting and performance space, vegetable growing plots, irrigation, land cleaning and clearing ~ and we would love you to join us if you have gardening and carpentry skills, can paint, cook, organise and openly communicate especially anyone with experience of acrobatic work - on the rocks! - maybe you have a chainsaw licence or experience with irrigation systems? Creative vision, problem solving and hands on hard working positivity will help you realise a great sense of achievement and fit in with our family of 3 working dogs and 2 women in their 50’s on an inspirational adventure.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camping - we are all camping at the moment until the house is built. There is a selection of tents from yurt to hammock and we can provide bedding , if you would prefer to bring your own tent etc we can provide pitches. We have showers and compost loos for everyone to use - and ask that only natural products are used for washing as we reuse all grey water on the land.
    Laundry is weekly unless required sooner.
    Wi fi and phone charging is available at the kitchen meeting area.

    We will provide cooking facilities and regular trips to markets and shops. Hot and cold beverages will be available constantly along with fruit and bread with condiments from the land. We will cook a full main meal each working day and can share other meals. We love cooking and enjoying food with others.
    Each camping area will have a zeer fridge to keep cool drinks and snacks at hand.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are pretty easy going ( subjective we know) enjoy music and dancing, good food & wine etc. We work hard & play hard and respect kindness and consideration. We love our dogs, family and friends. Enquiring minds and creative expression.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 676259824495