Come to visit Portugal and join us in our Life Project in Beja, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 92 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Are you looking for a new adventure?

    Do you want to expand your horizons and meet a whole new side of you, while living new experiences amongst nature?

    If you’re hoping to reconnect with nature, learn a new language, a new culture, meet new people, new places and new opportunities, this might just be what you need!

    We’re in the heart of Alentejo, Portugal, surrounded by nature and all the best energies!

    Tired of the city life, im moving to a cute little house in a land with a bit of history. It belonged to my grandparents for years, where i spent part of my childhood at.
    Now, i want to restore it as a way to honor our grandparents.
    If you want to be a part of it, you are more than welcome to come!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Be ready to have a whole different experience from what you are used to. We're in the heart of Alentejo, a particular region in Portugal known for its country life, good wines, good people, and the perfect "slow living" example.
    If you are hoping to slow down your life for a while, maybe learn a new language (portuguese), meet different people, share knowledge in all kinds of ways, join me in my adventure!

  • Help

    Help

    I need help in all sorts of ways. Im restoring an old farm house and starting an agricultural project. We have lots of land that we want to use to grow our own vegetables and fruit.
    So basically, i need help with agricultural work, carpentry, construction, maintenance, cleaning, and so on.
    Im looking for people with an adventurous side, an open mind and ready to work and help anywhere needed!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently, my guests can stay with us in the first restored house our in our caravan.
    I have 4 wells in the property, but we don't have piped water yet. We use the water from the wells to wash our hands and fulfill basic needs while we're there. I have a little village nearby, 1km away from the property, where i have a house with a nice full bathroom for baths and other needs for our guests, once the bathroom in the property is currently being built.
    I can provide tents and bedding. Guests with caravans and vans have a lot of space in the property to accomodate themselves and are more than welcome to bring their "houses on wheels" as well.
    I provide 2 complete meals: , lunch and dinner. We offer local food experiences based in vegan , vegetarian and normal meals .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our land is based 1km away from a small village, known for being the "Capital of Clay" for years, called Beringel. It has lots of restaurants with amazing food and wine, pastries with the best bread around, supermarkets, a pharmacy and so on.

    There are also several dams around the land to watch beautiful sunsets and take nice long walks and pictures.

    Besides that, in a 10 min drive by car, that we are more than welcome to provide our guests, we arrive a city named Beja. It has a lot of places to visit, such as historical parts of the city. One of them is the castle (Castelo de Beja), known for having Portugal's tallest manor house. There are many other places to visit, such as historical churches, museums, restaurants well known for their amazing "alentejana" food, beautiful parks and gardens, theater and movie theater, and so on. The city has everything to fulfill your needs and desires, such as a hospital, supermarkets, restaurants, cafés, beautiful places to visit and live wonderful experiences!

    We all speak english fluently, a bit of spanish and, obviously, portuguese. This might be a good change for you to learn a bit of portuguese, if you are interested in! I am more than happy to help my guests in anything they might need.

    I also have 3 dogs, and any kind of animals are welcome to stay in the farm!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 676245666935