Kaixo! Native Basque speaker needed to teach language to children in Perthshire

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 107 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5. Children are 9, 7 and 4. We live in the mountains in Balquhidder, Perthshire on a sheep farm. It is a very remote and rural location. The nearest town is 40 mins drive away. It is a beautiful location. Perfect if you like hill walking, mountain biking and being in the wild.

    We have a log cabin near to the house for helpers. It has one bedroom, bathroom, living room with wood burning stove and small kitchen.

    If you are coming to learn English then we would be able to help you improve your language skills.

    The ideal person would be self reliant, adventurous, have an appreciation of the outdoors and nature, like hillwalking and have an extrovert nature and sense of fun in order to engage with the children.

    We are happy to have 1 or 2 people but there is only one double bed in the accommodation.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help you with your English, can teach you how to play the Scottish bagpipe and show you our way of life.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a native Basque speaker to give us around 4-5 hours help per day for 5 days a week. We would like you to teach our children some Basque. When they are at school your help would be appreciated with other general tasks around the house and farm. If you can cook well we would be particularly interested to hear from you.

    In exchange we offer accommodation and food and an opportunity to live in a very beautiful part of the Scottish Highlands. We also have a flat in Edinburgh which you can use if you wish to have a break from the countryside and go to the city.

    My husband is half Basque so we are keen for the children to learn Basque since he doesn't know the language. The children speak Spanish quite well and obviously English.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate accommodation - log cabin with one bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Balquhidder is a small village but there is a weekly Yoga class, a choir, folk music night at the pub and some other young people in the area who work in the local hotel.

    I can put you in touch with a previous Basque girl who stayed with us for 7 months and she will be happy to describe her experience to you.

    The transport links aren't great so you need to be prepared to be quite isolated. For his reason this opportunity may suit a couple who would provide company for one another

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 674582229899