Looking for someone to get involved in our busy family life in Sheffield a vibrant city in Northern England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 139 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 21 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Probably a long shot but i am deseprate:
    I am looking for a workawayer who is willing to come and self isolate with myself and my children for the summer period. My kids haven't been to school in 3 months and won't go back till September. Can you help? You need to genuinely love being around children as it would be a pretty full on couple of months. You must be willing to isolate with us, that doesn't mean you can't go out but it means you must adhere to strict social distancing as my son is vulnerable. I am happy to chat more about details to anyone who is interested. Ideally you would self isolate for 2 weeks prior to coming to stay with us. I can pick up within a couple of hours radius in the UK.
    I can potentially pay a bit extra for extra hours done.

    Come and help our family thrive!
    My children and i live in lovely Sheffield, England. We are right next to the peak district which has excellent hiking , climbing, caving and other outdoor activities, and is easily accessible by foot or public transport. Sheffield is a vibrant, multicultural and green city full of creative, outdoorsy types and is a great place to live.
    We have a lot going on at our home and are a busy family. We love having people around, especially those with a curiosity about the world. My kids are 6 and 8, and my oldest has a disability (downs syndrome) so i need help with a whole variety of stuff. while there will be some ongoing tasks, you probably won't get bored. And if you do, i will find you something else to do!!
    We would prefer someone who can do at least a month so you can really become part of the family, but we are also pretty flexible if someone has skills we desperately need like building, plumbing and general diy for the 3 projects i have running at the moment. couples and families very welcome - the children love having other kids around!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you will learn so much from my kids. especially my oldest due to his disability -he has a different outlook on life. It would be great for someone looking to work with children, health care professionals, or anyone going into any kind of caring profession. this placement would be great for anyone who wants to work with kids really!
    i am really flexible and if you wanted to work more some days in order to have more free days, provided it worked for us too, i have no problem with that.
    i can help with your english language skills if you need, and i am good at what i call 'life shit' if that's of any use!
    the tasks i need help with are so varied its really hard to quantify what exactly you would get, but i see this as an exchange not just of time, but of ideas and personalities. you get to help shape small people and big ones, too! what isn't there to learn? i just really love having different people around, it's exciting and fun for everyone.
    also - for the building and conversion projects, we will be learning together.

  • Help

    Help

    The bulk of the help i need is childcare and keeping the house in order. it's essential that you enjoy spending time with children and are empathic to their needs! Also, you have to have a lot of energy and be willing to get up early 5 out of 7 days during the holidays, and 2 out of 7 during term time.
    Also, Childcare doesn't mean shoving the kids in front of your phone and letting them watch YouTube. I am perfectly capable of doing that myself, and don't need a workawyer to do it for me.

    So, the work would involve spending time playing with the kids so I get a rest in the mornings, playing with 1 child while i have quality time with the other, helping my oldest child with targeted speech and language work (support/training will be given), accompanying us on daytrips when i feel i need an extra pair of hands, occasional school runs depending on my working hours, at least 1 night of babysitting a week so that i can have some kind of social life, and taking the boys to the park depending on how long you stay, if you feel confident to do so, etc.
    housework would involve keeping the house clean and tidy, laundry, and if your skills are better than mine (not hard) cooking for the family.
    other tasks would include gardening and helping create raised beds for growing veg (this is a small project, we only have a small space) , language exchange and creative skills exchange.
    i would love to find someone with the necessary skills to create murals in my boys bedrooms.
    I am also looking for people who have building /plumbing/ eco project/ diy skills who can help convert 3 seperate spaces. one is a cellar into a music room, and one an attic room into a bathroom so the skills needed are pretty set, however the final is a brick outhouse that i would love to turn into a therapy space in as eco friendly a manner as possible. special consideration given if you have these skills.
    extra special consideration given to speech and language therapists or occupational therapists!

    It would be helpful if any potential workawayers are independent as my work is variable and i am quite busy so can't always guarantee being around a lot. You have to be OK with cooking for yourself.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Welsh: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you will have your own large room in the attic, and a bathroom which will be mostly yours.
    if i have other guests, or other workawayers, you will be in our comfortable living room on a sofa bed, but i wouldn't put anyone up in here for longer than a week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is loads to do in sheffield and the surrounding area - the peak district. public transport is easily accessible from the house and everything useful is within walking distance! you can do whatever you want with your time off, i am also happy to spend time together when its' possible and show you around. we are really flexible and easy going and would like workawayers who are similar!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a good internet connection, and you will have plenty of space in the attic to work. I may be studying online myself very soon so more than happy to accomodate.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    you can park it on the street, but it won't necessarily be outside my house.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This really depends on the type of pet and duration of your stay!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week or the equivalent. i would expect you to work at least one weekend day.

peak district
peak district
situations you might have to deal with!
our family
sheffield city

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 152642654385