Help with childcare, in our orchard and painting a mural at home in Martinique

  • Martinique
  • Favourited 116 times
  • Last activity: 25/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I both work, we have 6 children. Five of them are students (they do not live at home anymore), and Marin 17 years old is the only one who still live in Martinique.

    He has an intellectual disability, returns home every week ends.
    He is very endearing but requires a lot of attention and a lot of time.
    Indeed, he constantly needs to be stimulated and overseen.
    He can read and talk (with small language impediments and poor vocabulary), actually he can be very talkative. He can also hike (for short distances), swim, play several simple games, etc...
    Sometimes very likeable, he happens to become temperamental and provocative.

    We have a citrus orchard and a large garden that deserves maintenance (pruning and harvesting)
    We have seasonal rental housing that sometimes deserve cleaning or small painting work etc....
    So whatever your profile (disability or not) we will have an occupation according to your skills and activity preferences.
    We usually lend a car some days a week.
    The accommodation is very comfortable and we will adapt the work schedules to each other’s occupations.

    See you soon.

    Nous travaillons tous les deux, nous avons 6 enfants 5 d'entre eux sont étudiants et ne vivent plus à la maison, et seul Marin, 17 ans, le 5éme vit avec nous à la Martinique.

    Il est porteur d'une déficience intellectuelle (maladie orpheline de Smith Magenis) et revient à la maison les week end, il est très attachant mais demande beaucoup d'attention, beaucoup de temps.
    Il a constamment envie et besoin d'être stimulé.
    Il sait courir nager lire parler (avec des petits défauts de prononciation et un vocabulaire pauvre)
    Même s'il est assez souvent très sympathique, Il lui arrive de faire des colères, d'être capricieux, ou d'être dans le conflit, la provocation.

    Nous avons un verger d'agrume et un grand jardin qui mérite de l'entretien (taille et récoltes)
    Nous avons des logements en location saisonnière qui méritent tantôt du nettoyage tantôt des petits travaux peinture etc.
    Donc quelque soit votre profil (handicap ou non) nous aurons une occupation en fonction de vos compétences et préférences d'activité.
    Nous avons pour habitude de prêter une voiture certains jours dans la semaine.
    Le logement est très confortable et nous adapterons les plannings de travail aux occupations des uns et des autres.

    A bientôt.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Exceptional site, in full tropical forest, 10 minutes from the Mountain Pelée, many hikes nearby.
    Beach and sea at 30 degrees to 20 minutes by car.

    Site exceptionnel, en pleine forêt tropicale, 10 minutes de la Montagne Pelée, nombreuses randonnées à proximité.
    Plage et mer à 30 degrés à 20 minutes en voiture.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Helps on weekends and holidays with a 17 year old boy with a mental handicap.

    Level of French minimum required and profession related to the handicap especially welcome; Occupational therapist, psychomotor, speech-language pathologist.

    Aide le week-end et les vacances auprès d'un petit garçon de 17 ans porteur d'un handicap mental.

    Niveau de français minimum nécessaire et profession en lien avec le handicap spécialement bienvenus; ergothérapeute, psychomotricienne, orthophoniste éducateur spécialisé.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared house with individual bathroom and room (could be shared with another workaway)

    Maison partagée avec chambre et salle de bain personnel (ou à partager avec un (une) autre workaway.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a good connexion

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 hours per day max, 5 days / week; 4/5 heures par jour max, 3 j/sem.

Host ref number: 673377392471

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Help in general maintenance, building and horses pastures and horse care in Le Robert, Martinique
Help me create a small permaculture garden and with DIY in Le Marin, Martinique