Child care help, permaculture gardening, home tasks and summer festivals near Finnskogen, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 286 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    759

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 25 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    Note: I am now looking for people who want to help with gardening (also some child help and other stuff in the house) this spring!

    My name is Magdalena and I'm a mom living in Flisa, a little village in Åsnes, Norway. Close to the Finnskogen. Here I live with my baby boy (1 1/2 year old) in the first floor of an old and big farmhouse.

    I'm a garden lover (with experience on permaculture), vegan, with a bachelor degree on nutrition. I also write a blog on my website. My sons dad and I do not live together, but he is around a lot. He owns another farm nearby in the Finnskogen, is not active as a farm but as a place where together we work to make festivals and other projects. I am also designing a food forest garden there. There is a lot to do, the farm is huge! so if you want to stay there and help you are most welcome, although it's a bit more off grid living!

    there are two dogs in the property but not mine: Ian and Eldfi. I have one cat called Pauline who is a big beautiful Maine Coon. There's another Maine Coon at the other farm.

    I'm not originally Norwegian, I was born and raised til I was 11 in the south of Patagonia, Argentina. If you wish to have Norwegian language exchange count me out because that's not my field of interest nor expertise.

    I will accept you only if you are genuinely interested in what I can offer you and the tasks that are being asked for.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I offer a flexible stay with good healthy food, loving animals and kids. Fun and cool projects in Finnskogen!

    From me you can learn about:
    Permaulture and gardening
    Veganism, plant based diet nutrition and cooking + baking
    Raw food and fermenting.
    Medicinal herbs

    We can also:
    Pick wild berries, flowers and herbs.
    Pick mushrooms.
    Visit other farms nearby.

  • Help

    Help

    I welcome anyone with any type of skill, everything from the artsy to the more practical. But what will help me the most is someone who can spend time with me sometimes and help me with the baby. Which is fairly easy, since he is a very happy and fun baby to be with. I say baby but he is more like a toddler, he walks and babbles a lot.

    People staying here should be open minded, solution orientated, and quite independent.

    Tasks may include:
    - Soil shoving, making fences and garden beds.
    - Cleaning and organising the barn
    - Building a garden compost bin.
    - Mowing the lawn.
    - Watching my baby while I'm doing something else,
    - Driving to the store, if you have a drivers licence.
    - General maintenance of the house
    - Painting walls and furniture
    - Help out in the kitchen and cleaning the house.
    -preparing garden for the next season
    - decorate for festivals, make signs and other cool projects.
    - Tasks being asked for at the festivals.


    Work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week and it's flexible when you want to use your hours, though i'm not keeping count, just as long as the job gets done.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can accommodate up to 3 people and specilly small families to live with me. There is everything for babies and small children, beds, toys, clothes..etc..if we don't have it we can get it.

    I will offer you some plant based essential groceries (i.e: rolled oats, oat milk, some legumes, rice,, etc.) which you can use as you like. The rest you have to buy your self. We will probably have some meals together. You will be sharing kitchen with me so I would love it if you Don’t make anything with animal products.

    There's a pool in the property, a trampoline and bikes you can borrow.

    At the farm in Finnskogen: You can either stay in a shared bedroom (with 2 bunk beds) in the cabin with my son's dad, sleep in a mongolian yurt or camp outside - or if you're very handy, make your own little cabin :P or tree house! There is only outside showers and toilets there.

    BEST TIME TO COME:
    Spring: March - May : when the snow melts away there is a lot of garden preparation.
    From May we can start planting outside.
    Summer there might be some planting too, but mostly festival activities in Finnskogen.
    Autumn: it is best to come at around September to October which is the best harvest time and preparation for next spring.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the summer and autumn there is of course the forests (Finnskogen) where one can pick mushrooms, edible flowers and plenty of berries!

    My sons dad also owns another farm far into the forest of Finnskogen, where we sometimes have events like festivals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Workawayers playing with Ask
Art of Flow, workshop and festival in Finnskogen.
My little boy and I last summer
The barn at Finnskogen, decorated for one of the festivals last summer.
The yurt (festival picture)
First workawayers painting the living room :)
The mini garden
Having dinner with the workers
summer, house in Flisa
winter, house in Flisa
mushroom and wild edible plant hunt (another festival)
Wood carved mushroom in FInnskogen
The lake nearby
festival in Finnskogen

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 673345374716