Come and help us around Self-sufficient, organic smallholding in Fåberg, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 323 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Do you want to help us start up our farm? We are a young couple Dan Halvard (35, from Norway) and Hanna (27, from England) and Embla (1).
    We live on our old farm in south Gudbrandsdalen, in the east of Norway, on a steep hillside with a wonderful view of the valley, all the way down to Lillehammer.
    Our goal is to be self-sufficient, and for us that means producing as much of our own food and basic needs as possible, living simply, and working hard. We have chosen to run the farm without modern machinery like tractors, because we prefer peace and quite, and contact with the land. We are both motivated by the urgency of finding sustainable ways of living on this planet, and living a healthy and fulfilling life. For us, this involves exploring the ways in which people used to live self-sufficiently and close to the land.

    Dan Halvard is very interested in the pre-industrial Norwegian farming culture, and so wants to do as much farm work in the old Norwegian way as he can, in order to understand the old culture better and to keep the traditions alive.

    Hanna is more concerned with finding a way of living that works with nature, rather than against it, and being responsible stewards of the land; thoughtful use of resources; care for the soil and biodiversity; creating rather than destroying.

    We are looking for people who enjoy physical work, are interested in learning about self-sufficiency/ traditional farming/ food production/ organic farming/ low-impact living. Ideally we want people who can stay long term: several months or longer, but our minimum stay is three weeks. (3 weeks in the summer, 2 weeks in the winter)

    Right now we have about 35 chickens (islandshøns); a working horse (Haukjon, fjording), eight sheep (villsau) and a Norwegian Forest Cat called Gersemi and her two children Freki and Luna. Our farm isn't certified organic (because we dont sell food) but we farm organically,keeping in mind the health of the soil and the wider environment.

    We grow our own grain, vegetables, eggs and meat.

    We don't allow smoking on the farm. There are many reasons for this. Basically we see smoking as a destructive act, towards all life on this planet. If you believe in conspiracy theories like holocaust denial, 9/11 as an inside job, flat earth theory and chemtrails you should look for another farm. Because of the current climate crisis we would prefer volunteers that choose not to fly here.

    To work with us you have to have good English skills. Our experience with having people that speak poor English is that there are a lot of misunderstandings and a lot of extra time spent explaining things. It's also difficult to have good conversations and dicussions and just smalltalking all the time is not our thing. This is not the right farm to improve your English or Norwegian unless it's already on a good level on arrival.

    We usually have several volunteers in the spring, summer and fall, and have only one or two in the winter.
    This is a farm based on little machinery, most work is done by man and horsepower. We have chosen to do things in this way because we find life more enjoyable without unnessecary technology, and more satisfying to work with our own bodies, than rely on machines. This means that it's important that you are reasonably fit and are ready to work hard physically.

    Since there are a lot of volunteers that don't read the host presentation, we would like you to write the word "Allfadr" in your private message/host request to us. In your request we want you to tell us about yourself and why you want to come to our farm.

    We are very interested in handicrafts like tanning, spinning, weaving, sewing, dying (and other textile crafts) and woodworking and we’re always interested in sharing skills and knowledge. Unfortunately there is little time for handicrafts at the moment, because we are still starting up, and there are so many other things to do all the time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying at our farm you have the opportunity to experience how it is to live from the land, and what it takes to be self-sufficient. We consider our farm unique in that we do not use modern machinery to help us with food production, choosing instead to do things by hand or use our working horse, and at the same time manage to produce most of our own food. You will also learn many specific tasks, e.g splitting wood, planting vegetables, haymaking, cutting grain by hand. The things we are able to teach you are completely dependant on the time of year you come. (See above)

  • Help

    Help

    Below is a general outline for what we will be working on at different times of the year:

    All year: Taking care of the animals, fire wood making
    Nov- Apr: Making firewood, threshing grains (March: raising seedlings, preparing for spring)
    Apr-May: Preparing garden; sowing and planting out seedlings; bringing out manure with the horse; preparing grain fields; sowing grains; fencing; preparing the hayfield.
    June: gardening, harvesting and drying leaves for fodder, maintenance work
    July: Hay work, gardening
    August: Hay work, gardening, picking berries, and making jam, juice etc.
    September: Harvesting grains, harvesting and preserving vegetables
    October: Harvesting and preserving, butchering, clearing up for winter, renovation work around the farm

    We also expect volunteers to help with the daily tasks like cooking and washing up. We try to share these jobs as equally as possible.

    We cannot guarantee that you will get a variety of jobs when you are here. If you stay only for a month you will often have to do a lot of the same things. Generally, the longer you stay the more variation there will be.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two rooms you could stay in, one in the main house and one in the second house, both with wood burning stoves. If we have more than 2 volunteers you will probably have to share a room. Our house is very old and has not been modernised so facilities may seem very basic to you! We have no fridge, no electric washing machine (only bike powered!), no shower (just a primitive one), no WC (just an outhouse/compost toilet). If you have to smell soapy/perfumy all the time this is not the place for you. Showering every day is not sustainable nor necessary in our opinion. We don't understand the modern culture where you have to camouflage your natural scent. We have plumbing, but we heat all our hot water on the wood stove. We live very simply, so you must be willing to do the same.

    We have electricity in the main house, but not the second house.

    We eat all our meals together with volunteers. As our goal is to be self-sufficient, we aim for most of our meals to be made from our own produce. We have porridge for breakfast, from our own grain, and for our evening meal it will often be a combination of vegetables and meat. We eat what the seasons give us, so in the summer there's always alot of salad and fresh veggies, in the autumn there's alot of everything, and in the winter we eat mainly grain, root vegetables and meat. We provide three meals a day, but not luxuries like tea, coffee and snacks. Unfortunately we cannot cater for special diets, since our diet is not really flexible. If you are vegetarian we can discuss it, depending on what time of year you want to come.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The bus connection is very limited here, so it’s difficult to get around: if you are looking for a base to explore the area, this probably isn't the best place for you.

    We have Wi-fi that you can use in the evenings, but we have a very slow connection, so it can only be used for checking emails, news etc (not downloading, watching videos etc.)

    We have zero TV channels, so its good if you bring something to do in your spare time- books, handicrafts etc. We are often busy in the evenings with our own projects, so It's necessary that you don't mind being alone. Some volunteers find the farm a bit isolated, so if you are very social you might feel alone here.

    We may not reply if it is clear to us that you haven't read our profile thoroughly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)








Host ref number: 587173979844