1 / 5

Family and bush stay in Jervis Bay, Australia

  • Favourited 16 times
  • Last activity: 2 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are family who live on a small conservation property near Jervis Bay, NSW, Australia. We have spent years trying to be sustainable, living organically, managing threatened species and bring up a beautiful family of three boys. Our home is small and very comfortable, built from recycled and natural materials, we have well established gardens, pets, chooks, and surround by natural bush land. We are looking for people to help us with our gardens, chooks, bush regeneration and home maintenance. We are keen to host people who enjoy sharing language and culture, have an appreciation of the Australian bush, and if you enjoy playing football (soccer) that would be a bonus! Our boys have grown up with the youngest in his early teens and we are both full time workers, working from home for an NGO and national parks. We love travelling and if the time is right we would also be looking for people to housesit.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Jervis Bay and where we live is surrounded by beautiful beaches, great bush walks and lots of opportunities to learn more about Australia wildlife and plants. We support and work in protecting cultural and natural values and we are keen to share this passion with you. We also love music and play various instruments with locals, we love sport and being active, and we play football for local and representative teams.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Work is varied and can change to suit your skills. We need help around the gardens with weeding, rock edges /walls, chopping wood, little projects, picking fruit/vegetables, planting, pruning, mowing etc. Our bushland needs attention with weeding, planting and managing a few erosion points. We have lots of tools and can hire certain equipment if need be. We would also just love help with managing the everyday of running a busy household, cooking, a bit of cleaning eg windows, and simple maintenance like painting.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are keen to learn other languages. Spanish and French are preferred also Italian.

  • Accommodation


    We have a well set up and private caravan that is undercover and separate to the house. It has a joining bathroom and small courtyard. You can cook your own food in the van (or house) and be responsible for your own breakfast and lunch. For evening meals we are happy to share but please note that we are out late many days during the week (football training) and eat late.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We only expect a mornings equivalent (3-4 hours) of work each day in exchange for accommodation and evening meals. The rest of the time is your to explore our beautiful area. As we are a regional area, there is very little public transport. Push bikes are good if you’re fit to get around if you don’t have a vehicle. Much easier with a car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 164325923881



Cultural exchange and help with my 8 year old daughter in the outback of Queensland, Australia
Family of 5 living in the limestone coast area of South Australia looking for help with babysitting, housekeeping & gardening Australia