Enjoy the outdoor life in an amazing setting and improve your English near Cambridge, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 303 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Regretfully, it is ESSENTIAL that you hold the CORRECT VISA (see gov.uk/guidance/immigration-rules) and comply with current Covid protocols. My husband and I are vulnerable, so such compliance is life-saving.

    Other than this we endeavour to free ourselves from constraints, projecting our energies to enable sustainable yet comfortable living, working within our boundaries to optimise environmental and aesthetic impact. Our guests have all made a contribution to achieving this. One of my favourite experiences is in developing a fully-motivated individual’s spoken English, equalled by the considerable visual and practical pleasure derived from the improvements effected by our guests.

    Our household consists of myself, my husband, a dog (dachapoo) as well as about 40 chickens and probably a horse (not ours) grazing the fields. So far we have had guests from Italy, Spain, France, Germany, Switzerland, Russia, Argentina, Mexico, Hong Kong, Japan, Denmark and even England, and we welcome all nationalities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Spoken (and written) English. We can explore its eccentricities and grammar together. There are also many language schools in Cambridge, however due to Covid-19 openings are variable.

    Covid-willing, from time to time I will take you out and about to see local places and events. You may also learn about the life which both my husband and I have lived to the full, through a broad interest in the world around us, literature, travel and work. Added to which are eco and country living, animal welfare, horticulture, land and house maintenance, as well as biology and zoology for beginners!

  • Help

    Help

    We are elderly in body (not spirit) so need help with the more vigorous tasks we can no longer do, therefore it is important that you are in good physical shape and have a strong back.

    Your help is needed in the fields, from clearing nettles and brush to digging holes for planting, trimming back branches, preparing wood piles, caring for the chickens (including handling), cutting and mowing, painting this and that - living a predominantly outdoor life. When we are able to undertaking tasks companionably either with myself or very occasionally with my husband but, when health constrains us, independently.

    In the winter bring warm clothing and, whatever the season, have a full set of working clothes and shoes which keep you dry and which you don’t mind getting muddy in. Also do bring slippers.

    Some of the ideal profiles we have experienced through taking part in Workaway are individuals who readily take responsibility for tasks and enjoy seeing projects (whether large or small) through to completion, are proactive, conscientious, eager to learn and impart new skills (whether physical or mental), independent and flexible, strong in mind and body, dedicated to improving their English, enjoy broadening their horizons through shared experience and knowledge, mature and self-reliant, well brought-up, tidy, easy conversationalists, and tolerant of my driving enthusiasm and need to complete any task once started. We have had guests who purported to be shy and we hope to have developed their self-confidence, since all have been a success. There are a plethora of jobs here and often the opportunity to develop your own interests.

    To a city dweller we may appear isolated, to a country person we are ideally situated, nonetheless Cambridge offers the opportunity to meet your peers. There are language schools galore to enable this.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Arabic: Beginner
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home is a newly-built eco house, on the edge of a village, secluded yet within easy walking distance of the guided bus to Cambridge. We operate a 100% non-smoking policy.

    You will live in a self-contained annexe (The Divesting Room) with internet, television, refrigerator, microwave, hotplates, etc. In the winter you will need to dress warmly and bring thick socks and slippers as the floors are unheated ceramic tiles, however there is a wood burner which keeps the room toasty and, at the other extreme, air-conditioning to mitigate any hot summers.

    Taking into account your personal tastes, we provide a cooked lunch, and the ingredients to make your own breakfast and supper. Our own diet is not vegetarian, although we do eat more vegetables than meat; naturally we prefer to share the same food with our guests.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    PLEASE DO NOT APPLY IF THE COLOURED CALENDAR BAR SHOWING AVAILABILITY IS RED (which in our case stands for “already booked”). THANKS

    I have early-stage CLL which can affect my energy levels; fortunately it’s not severe currently but does seem to fluctuate. Nonetheless, I should definitely have the ability to talk with you, but often not enough to work alongside you. My husband is immunosuppressed and highly vulnerable (I’m immunocompromised) so please ensure you have had your Covid vaccinations and take all recommended measures to keep yourself and us safe.

    As to our location, Fen Drayton is a small village, typical of the area and if you enjoy walking has a RSPB (Royal Society for the Protection of Birds) Nature Reserve which we overlook and which offers miles of pathways through the Fens, rivers and lakes. If you prefer to bicycle you may use one of ours. Additionally there is a very good local pub, the Three Tuns, but for something more exciting at night you would have to go to Cambridge. Newly opened in the village, just a few minutes bicycle ride away, there is also a gym .

    Cambridge is about 15 minutes walk then 20 minutes guided bus ride - it currently runs along the longest such route in the world, passing through beautiful countryside to reach the centre of Cambridge with its numerous delights: visual, cultural, culinary and entertaining. There are also many interesting surrounding villages and towns to explore. By train from Cambridge, London is under an hour away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/flexible week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

















Host ref number: 665258761185