1 / 3
updated  

Come and help at our farm in Tuscany, Italy

  • Favourited 313 times
  • Last activity: 26 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are an English couple who live on an old a Chestnut farm in the mountains of Tuscany, above Barga, along with three dogs (max the puppy is 70Kg Mastino Neopolitano and loves everyone) and our three cats!

    Its a stunning place, fabulous views, peaceful and quiet, but it can also be challenging!

    We are looking for people with DIY and building skills and also gardeners etc.

    We have 110 acres of overgrown and wild forest that we are trying to get back into shape!
    We are looking for people that can work with us in the forest, cutting wood for the winter, help make a barn and other farm fun!

    We work mostly outside in the woodland or garden, but we have some projects around the house this year - treatment of windows, building, plumbing, repairing cars and mechanical things - so any skills in those areas would be great!

    This is specifically our current projects, please apply if you feel comfortable in helping us with:

    Strimming the garden (sloping and sometimes difficult land).

    Sanding down and varnishing window frames

    Maintaining our woodland - cutting wood.

    Helping construct decking on our pool area.

    Helping make a lean-to garage.

    Clearing guttering and water management.

    Painting

    You may need to work unsupervised at times!


    We also want to get off grid as much as we possibly can, so any help with this would be appreciated!

    We can take people for a minimum period of two weeks, but we are also looking for a person or persons for a longer stay / perhaps a few months even to really get to be part of the project.

    No experience is needed, but you need to be enthusiastic, have a sense of humour and be a useful sort of person!

    As much as we would like to offer nice indoor work, I am afraid that we are outside when the weather is reasonable and only inside when it rains!
    We are ex rat race professionals (both my wife and I), but now look for a more simple and connected way of life, working with mother earth and the seasons, if you are that type of person, you will understand! If not come and find out!

    In return we offer nice accommodation, great food and a great fun, in short an experience that you will remember for the rest of your life (for all the right reasons)!

    We are also music makers and artists as well as being spiritually connected - Just to let you know!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Barga is a great place and we live in the middle of nature, travellers will get good food, good company, learn lots of new skills and maybe even have the opportunity to earn a little extra cash

  • Help

    Help

    Sometimes its too hot to work, sometimes its too wet, sometimes it may be even too deep in snow (in the winter), but we like to be flexible, we realise that you want a great Tuscan experience and in exchange we want fair value for our efforts in giving you a great time!

    So flexibility is the name of the game!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an annex to our main house with one double bed and three singles, own shower and toilet and living room.
    Helpers can also use the Kitchen area and main lounge.
    We also have great Internet Wifi and there is not much of that around here!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    First of all please make sure you have adequate medical insurance!

    Also let us know if you have any special dietary requirements - we cannot take Vegan diets, but we do eat a lot of Veg!

    We are located 11Kms from Barga, in the summer there is lots to do, music every night and fiesta all over the place. Lucca and Florence is an easy day trip away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have Starlink - so very good internet!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We are happy to host helpers with Campervans - plenty of space!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs that can settle with our pack!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours x 5 days

Host ref number: 664974257518

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)








Helping with the children in Calabria, Italy
Educational, circus project in the community of Brindisi, Italy