Help with some renovation projects and gardening and stay in a beautiful Trullo countryside in Apulia, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 650 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Milo and I've just started my new adventure.

    I'm building a small self-sustainable farm and a B&B / ecolodge in the Itria Valley (Apulia), very close to Cisternino, Ostuni, Martina Franca and Ceglie Messapica (four of the "white villages" that surround the valley).

    After several years in London, I work now between Milan and Rome. I'm a former university teacher and currently work as a consultant in the media industry. Have two daughters (16 and 20yo). They live in Milan and are often here helping with my project.

    I love Apulia and spend part of the year countryside in our peaceful Trullo to develop my new project, quite faraway from the urban life and the digital media environment... I'm also planning to start a small farm-to-table "restaurant": the menu it will be just based on the harvest of the day...

    I need some help in the field and in the house (painting the wall, fixing stuff and organizing the house and etc.). I'm also creating an organic vegetable garden, refurbishing an old small stone house, building a wooden cabin etc. So I need some help for all these tasks. The land that surround the Trullo is almost two hectares and there is always something to do: picking up fruit, olive harvesting, plowing, pruning the trees etc.

    You will work 5 hours a day / 5 days a week and I will choose the best task for you according to your skills and experience.

    *** If you decide to apply, please consider that all the activities require manual and physical work. Gardening in a field of two hectares is not the same of gardening in the backyard.

    You will have your own room or sometimes you will share your room with another workawayer. I will be happy to share my experience and knowledge in Italian culture and cuisine with you. I speak Italian, English, Spanish and a little bit of French.

    The place is wonderful and if you like the "real" Mediterranean countryside this is a place where you can enjoy the Apulian culture.

    But please keep in mind that the house is very simple, yet rustic. The bathroom is outside, just a few meters from the house and has been created in the former donkey's stable... We have WiFi. We do not have a TV but often project quality movies on the wall. If you want to get a better idea about the place just write "this is a trullo not a villa" and you will find more pictures of the house and the land.


    Please before you apply consider that:

    - during the winter months (December to March) temperature can be very low because the house is around 400 meters above the sea level;

    - during the autumn / winter we have breakfast at 6:30 / 7:00 AM and we start working at 7:30 / 8:00AM;

    - during the summer, temperatures can easily reach above 32°C degrees and for this reason we start working at 6:00 AM.

    You can also use our mountain bikes to ride around and to visit some of the closest towns (Martina Franca, Cisternino, Ceglie Messapica, Locorotondo, Ostuni ) that are the five "white villages" of the Itria valley. There is also a bus service that connects our place 3 times per day to Martina Franca and Ostuni. If I go by car to Martina Franca or Ostuni or to other places, I will be very happy to give you a ride.

    The house is located at a walking distance from the well known "Ciclovia dell'Acquedotto Pugliese ", a stunning 500 km wild trail that connects Campania (Avellino) to Apulia. It is also a very beautiful bike trail for a few hours ride. From our house, in less than two hours, you can reach by bike Ceglie Messapica (going South) or Locorotondo (North). Going to Cisternino is around one hour bike ride.

    A local shop / grocery shop / coffee shop (Gino's) with free WiFi is at a 12 minutes walking distance. You can buy there almost everything.

    Couples are welcome.

    Please consider that I have a cat. I also feed a wild fox. She comes "for dinner" sometimes and now is almost domesticated. For this reasons, I'm sorry but I cannot host a dog.


    Many thanks

    Milo

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can also learn about Italian and Apulian cuisine. I'm really passionate about cooking. I prepare my sourdough bread and use wild herbs and other vegetables that I grow in the field.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, help in the house, painting, general maintenance, building, manual help.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, French, English Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The volunteer will have his / her own room in our house. The bathroom is outside just a few meters from the house. In some periods of the years the volunteers will share a room.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Austin (Idaho) - Weeding the fava beans
Marta (Italy) and Elizabeth (Minnesota) - Bulding a woodpile
the two bedrooms from the West side
Shachar & Shavit (Israel) - Working in the field
One of the two living rooms
hay for mulching
passata is ready
wild fennel flowers in June
just me
My lovely fox Ga coming for dinner
Gem (Turkey) and Natalie (Australia) working on the old stone house
solo
one of the bedrooms
My daughter J at work...

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 651274312968