Help us form a non-profit community in Chimacum, Washington, USA



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We are a group of friends who have created a co-owned land project on the Olympic Peninsula. We purchased undeveloped land and are now building gardens and infrastructure, raising animals and welcoming in help on these projects. We speak a both English and Spanish and can teach about the unique culture in this region, including how the people here eat and make a living from the land and the Salish Sea.

    We have 15 beautiful acres, with lots of beautiful trees, wetlands, and a year-round stream. From our driveway, we have walking access to many miles of trails to a nearby Lake.

    A typical day here for us includes feeding the chickens and collecting eggs, watering the garden, and tending to one of the many ongoing projects, such as trail building, tree planting, tree limbing, working on one of the building projects, and then often sharing meals around the fire in the evening time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach about land management, tool skills such as chainsaw, sawmill, excavator, framing and building, plumbing and electrical, raising chickens, geese, ducks, rabbits and pigs, essential oil and hydrosol production and much more! Of course you will also experience what it's like to live on shared land with others, and how to navigate decision and co-living. You will work closely with one of our community members to tend to the land and community and help create work-parties. Here you will learn about eating and making a living from the land in this region and caring for the unique habitat of the Pacific Northwest!

  • Help


    Looking for help tending to the forests and gardens, and help with building projects.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    We currently can offer space to camp. We also have a small tiny house on wheels, which is a little bedroom that may be available. Our property is a mostly wooded 15 acres with many beautiful places to set up a tent. You would have access to a hot shower, an outdoor kitchen and a county-approved compost toilet. We currently share a lot of food at communal meals, mostly at breakfast and dinner. You would have access to chicken eggs and shared food around the fire.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's a lot to do around here. Hiking trails just a ten minute walk from the property, as well as lakes to swim in. We are 15 minutes from the ocean and 45 minutes to the Olympic mountains. 20 minutes to Port Townsend and the ferry systems that connect the San Juan Islands.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a guest cabin that we use for internet and office use. You'd be welcome to use this space as well.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have spaces set up with electrical and water connections, ready for a mobile home or camper van, in a beautiful nature setting.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We currently have two sweet cats, and one friendly dog residing on the land. Any pets that you would want to bring would need to be able to coexist peacefully with the animals already here.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 663535356618

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)

Enjoy small town life in the mountains while helping us with house and garden projects near San José, USA
Prototype for creative sustainable living in New Mexico, Sandia park