Manitoba farm looking for general help and also to learn French, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2019

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️*️️PLEASE NOTE: please check the calender first regarding availability. We will try to keep it updated. Please tell us a bit about yourself when contacting us to come. What about coming to our farm interests you and what are you hoping to do? Do you have your own transportation? Thanks!

    We farm approximately 2600 acres of land: about 1600 acres are annual crops, and the rest of the land is hay and pasture. In 2016 we grew wheat, barley, flax, and soybeans. We rent out our hay and pasture. We no longer have cattle.

    The farm is located about 2 hours from Winnipeg, Manitoba and 1/2 hour from Brandon, Manitoba. The closest town is 8 miles away, so those wanting to travel will require a form of transportation (rental car).

    We would prefer to start with 1 or 2 weeks of volunteering at a time, or less.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Depending on when travellers stay - there is the opportunity to learn about crops: seeding; crop scouting (checking for disease or pests); how grain is stored, marketed, shipped; general farm maintenance; Canadian foods and celebrations; gardening and general yard upkeep; English language; and more. In general - learn about life on a Canadian grain farm.

  • Help

    Help

    During the summer, we would ask for help with general yard and building maintenance such as scraping & painting buildings, mowing, gardening, fencing and other jobs.

    We do not have cattle or much work to offer volunteers in the winter, but I (Sheila) would be interested in learning to speak French and Spanish. I understand a few words but would very much like to become fluent. So we would like a volunteer to help with with French or Spanish.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a guest house on site to accommodate one or two people willing to volunteer. We will NOT allow smoking, pets or drugs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have 2 children. They have both graduated from school. Our son is going to university; our daughter has moved to Alberta.

    My husband and I farm full time. I worked casual and part time in lab & x-ray up until recently. We like to travel and learn about other countries and people. During the summer we are kept quite busy in the farm with crops, gardening, yard work and general maintenance - but we do try to find time for other things such as camping. During the winter my husband plays hockey. We sometimes go snowmobiling (depending on weather and snowfall amounts).

    I cannot eat gluten (food containing barley, wheat or rye), so I am accustomed to preparing meals without gluten. My husband and children do eat gluten, so food with gluten is also prepared here. Cooking or preparing vegetarian is a bit of a challenge as we are not very close to a store, therefore would prefer not to.

    I would be prepared to make one meal (evening meal) - preferably with some help from a guest. Breakfast and dinner would be the guest's responsibility.

    We have a dog, as well as several barn cats. We are allergic to cats and therefore they are not allowed in either house.

    We will not allow smoking, pets or drugs.

    *️️*️️*️️Please: If you are not willing to be upfront about your expectations, why you want to come here, what you can (or cannot do) and provide some information about yourself then don't contact us. We expect to know something about you before inviting you into our home and lives. We are not expecting much. We look forward to meeting people and learning about different cultures. We don't expect much in return for a nice place to stay and learn about rural life in Manitoba. This should be mutually beneficial as far as we are concerned.

    If you cannot get yourselves here, that may make a difference as we are quite busy in the spring, summer and fall. If you just want a free place to stay and expect us to drive you all over, provide your food, and be your free tour guide, don't contact us please. If you are not willing to answer questions about what you can or cannot do, or your interests - don't contact us. Sorry if it sounds harsh, but unfortunately we have had a few people contact us who have very little information, and won't answer questions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    varies - average 4 hours per day but flexible



Host ref number: 581667464856