Join our small family and take part in our daily life in Glasgow, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 133 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come join me and my daughter (9 yrs old) and enjoy Scottish culture. We are a fun loving small family that includes a small dog Archie and we live in a flat. We have an allotment and live close to a huge park. I work part time and need help with childcare, dog walking, shopping, cooking and gardening, as well as growing seasonal vegetables. I am a very active community member and chair my local community project to achieve a better community spirit and neighbourhood. We are keen to share our experience and learn about other cultures by hosting people from around the world.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I would like to offer the opportunity for an individual or parent and child/couple to learn English and experience Scotland. Glasgow is a vibrant exciting city offering many activities to enjoy, with nature and hill walking not far from the city. I have many local connections to community projects that may also interest our visitor/s. I will provide free accommodation and food as well as showing people around and taking them to visitor attractions and local events of their interest. I can introduce them to my culture.

  • Help

    Help

    As a lone parent, I need help with looking after my nine year old daughter in our home in Glasgow so help with childcare, dog walking, gardening and growing vegetables, cooking and shopping is required. We would like to learn about different cultures and learn a new language too and can teach English in return.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The workawayer would stay in our family home with their own room and a shared bathroom, kitchen, and living room. We live in a traditional Glasgow tenement (on the 2nd floor) which is a flat with a shared garden. I will provide meals and hope that on some occasions they can cook a meal from their culture.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is situated in Battlefield (near Hampden Park Stadium, Mount Florida) on the south side of Glasgow city centre with excellent transport links to and from the city centre, main rail station and airport. It is easy to get around in Glasgow by train, bus and bicycle. Our nearest train station is Mount Florida (and this service takes 10 minutes from Glasgow central station.) Workawayers can have the evenings and weekends to themselves and do as they please, exploring Glasgow and the central belt of Scotland, (Edinburgh, Loch Lomond, Stirling, Ayrshire), for adventures further north this would require several days (more than a weekend) so please plan this before or after the workaway period,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 661995497457