Stay on a boat and help build a house from scratch! no contractor, no architect - North of Netherlands



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Between the lively city Groningen and the beautiful nature of the Wad, lies the pitoresk town where I have a 3 acre plot. It is situated next to a canal, where you will live in a boat. I myself live momentarily in a big cabinhome next to it.

    The boat needs some attention for maintenance etc. It was build in 1924 and had been used for freight till the 70's. After that it has been shortened to the current 19 meters and made into a living place. It has a separate, quite large bedroom in the back where you can stand if you are not too long (1.80/1.85m). In the front it has a living room, with two more bedbanks. Still, too long people will have to bow their head, but it is higher then in the back. You can also bring your own tent if you wish.

    Due to earthquakes caused by gasextraction by a Shell daughter company I have to rebuild my home. It has been quite a struggle for over a decade to get some compensation, so that has not been helping for having lots of energy. But after all that, I finally got all the permits to build a new woodframe house. And I like to do that without a contractor. So lots of things to do, and hands on help is very welcome.

    Don't expect the ordinary Dutch neat place. It's been quite chaotic, then that shows everywhere. The house needs to be build, to ship needs attention, the place needs organising, and not to speak of what is left of the garden. So you won't be bored. You can expect to work together with myself or maybe other workawayers. But also it would be handy if you would be willing and are capable to do some stuff on your own.

    On the terrain I have a Manitou telehandler, which you might drive as well if needed. And of course when we both think this is a good idea :-) I think this is a fun thing to do if you're up for it. I like to drive it myself as well, so no worries if you don't. If we can't work on the house, the boat needs sanding and painting mainly. This might be a job to keep you busy while I need to do administrative stuff on the house. The boat needs also some installation work, if you're into that. Beside that, I also have plans to change my van into a campervan. So lots to do, but first things first. My attention is to create a nice home again.

    At night, I have a fire bowl, which can be lit. For Dutch standards it gets pretty dark here, so some star gazing is possible for sure. If you stay longer we might go sailing or some other nice thing to relax. I've been a open sailboat instructor, so who knows.. Also there is a busstop in front of the housinghich brings you to Groningen. Groningen is a lively city with theaters, bars, restaurants etc. The nightlive goes on to early morning if you're into that. A popular thing tourists do is 'wadlopen'. The perfect spot for that is close, and I will bring you and cheer for you if you want to do it :-)

    During the years I have been travelling a lot, and I like the easy life. At the moment a have a small passive income, so I have time to play. I'm both a mechanical engineer as a spiritual care consultant by education, but mostly a free soul and life researcher. And now half a contractor as well, since I designed and calculated for the new house myself. I don't smoke, but you are free to do so, outside the boat and cabin that is. I'm somewhat a social loner I guess who thrives on authentic people who are true to their heart. Also I'm not much of a care taker or cook. So much appreciated if you are ;-)

    Please feel free to ask questions if you have some. I have been away from workaway for a while, so sorry if I didn't answer your message. But from now on, I will try to answer within a few days.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is really nice and quiet, and somewhat chaotic here. You can have a good time with other travellers (when there are any off course) & have bonfires. You might learn something about how to live freely and how to fix things. You might learn something about how to create your own home. It's also a place to relax and have good talks. I might take you on a trip.

  • Help


    Right now I'm quite busy myself with building the house and get everything organised. Sometimes I need hands on help with the work for that. Other times I still need to design some details or shop and order stuff. In those times you would be a real help if you will take on the stuff that needs attention too. Like boat maintenance (cleaning, sanding, painting), ordening the shed (ahum, it is bad), or if you are a mechanic, I have also some projects.

    I seem to be getting on the best with people who have some common sense about how to do stuff, or who ask when they don't know. That last bit is actually a necessary skill ;-) . If you're willing to work more then 20 hours a week, we can discuss payment.

    After some days (5 maybe) we will evaluate if the combination of you and me works out for both of us.

    I'm not a morning person myself, and not on a very regular schedule on food.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You have your own bed, but might have to share the room. You also have to share kitchen, bathroom and toilet with me and/or other volunteers. The boat has also a kitchen, toilet and shower, but it needs attention to work. Until one of you fixes things, you can use those in the cabin. :-)
    I have only an (unlimited) internet connection on my phone, which I will share with you when we are in reach of eachother. In the boat is no internet right now (it's to far away from the cabin) Might arrange something if you connect well here, and stay for a long time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The busstop is in front, where you can catch a bus directly to Groningen. Here are lots of activities, people and shops. The Groninger museum has nice expositions, and the nightlive is longer and better than that of Amsterdam. Also the province is full of architectural heritage, if you are into that. At my place, there is enough wood to make a bonfire. Places to put a hammock. Go for a ride on my sailing bike, walk along the meadows, have a swim in the canal. We might go sailing or go on a trip.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park on the grassland in summer.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours a week

Host ref number: 661293143556

Feedback (4)



New Earth project - Heart path walking together in Zeeland, Netherlands
Help needed in the garden in Beneden-Leeuwen, Netherlands