Help around our property and discover life in the Alpbach valley, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Vanessa, Stefan and Baby Elisa since August 2020 :) We live in the Alpbach valley and have an approximately 1.500sqm garden and, of course, lots of ideas what to do with it – e.g. building terraces, expand our vegetable garden, build (natural) fences, plant trees, … and there are many maintenance tasks to do, like to water the garden, cut the grass or get rid of the weed. For bad weather there are also some indoor tasks to be done like renovating rooms, painting, maybe some woodwork etc. – we can be creative there. We also have a dog who loves to be walked.
    Stefan is working full time at the moment and Vanessa is on parental leave, so maybe you can reserve some of your work time for the weekend or Friday afternoon because this is the time when Stefan is at home and has the energy to work ;) We also expect from you, that you help us with our household duties like vacuum cleaning, washing the dishes and cleaning stuff.
    We have been on our little workaway experience late winter/early spring 2018 and fell in love with the concept so we want to give the possibility to other workawayers as well!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have been passionate swing dancers (before the baby) so we can learn you some basic steps with us. In addition, we will invite you to most of our social activities and you can decide if you want to join us or not, it is up to you and either way no problem. Of course we will make some excursions together :)

  • Help

    Help

    Always to do:

    Help with garden chores, household tasks and taking care of our dog!
    building, processing firewood, painting, cleaning and repairing, renovating the house.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Projects for autumn/winter/spring 2020-21:
    renovate our old flat - painting, maybe sandpaper and repaint the floors, cleaning
    build with us and some professionals our new flat - everything will be renewed: pipes, electricity, windows, walls, floors and ceilings, etc. - lots of work to do :)
    at the end help us cleaning and reorganizing our stuff from the cellar, our old flat and move in to our new flat

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    other projects:
    renovate a wooden chest
    deconstruct and reuse our carport
    renovate the wooden outer walls from our house

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You get a separate bedroom somewhere in the house and you get also your own bath. All meals can be prepared and eaten together with us in the main kitchen - if you want. We are vegetarians, if you want to eat meat, you have to buy and prepare it by/for yourself. We buy all other food and drinks of course.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The ideal workaway guest for us would be a relaxed and creative person (couples again next summer - too many people for our old flat), with an interest and experience in building and renovation, dogs, gardening, nature and a little outdoor activities.
    Skills in carpentry, painting and gardening are very welcome.
    Volunteers can borrow our stuff in their freetime. We have bicycles, a tent and sleeping bags, some sports gear… There are many opportunities like swimming, trekking, bicycling or relaxing in the nature during summer, or skiing, snowboarding, sledging and many more during winter. A small creek is 5min away from us that is nice to go to and barbecue. The next bigger town (Innsbruck) is 40km away; you can easily go there by train; a super market and some bars and restaurants are in walking distance.
    Please note that we are not a company or institution with insurance for volunteers. Although we will of course make every precaution to prevent accidents, but we recommend you to buy a travel insurance that covers manual work.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have an 80MBit unlimited Broadband Internet Connection and an office room with a desk / office chair and an additional screen and some IT parts we can let to our guests.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    No campervan or motorhome was ever too big in our history of hosting :)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    One dog travelling with you should be fine - but we have to figure out how it works with our dog ;)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

another building project...
gardening chores
Vanessa & Stefan
building project...
Vanessa & Stefan
Kaja
Winter

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 652924932637