Volunteer to help a family build their mongolian yourt in Paldau, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 86 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    We are Thomas (1983) Judith (1987) Klara (2014) and Flora (2016).
    We live on a hill with alltogether around 13 hectar organically farmed land. This includes our neighbourfarm and an old farm which we rent in the moment. parts of the land have not been farmed for the last years, which creates a biotop for birds and wild animals. In this way we host a fox in the forest, a lot of birds in the trees including huntingbirds and you can watch rabits, deer and woodpeckers from our window.

    Our main interest in life is to live close to nature and to stay in a truthful connection to other people.
    Our aim is to build up an appropriate environment for human, plants and animals, which is worth to live in.

    In the moment we grow lots of vegetables and all over we have different fruit- and nuttrees.
    Our newest members of the Farm is Martina with her two horses, who lives in the oldest part of the farmbuildings. Beside them there are five elegant cat ladys and a cock with his chickens living on our place surrondet by the hills and forests of south-east styria, a very mild and green corner of austria.

    We ourselve spend also lots of time traveling and learning from other farms and communitys, where we get lots of inspiration about permaculture, the connection between human and animals as well as to use nonviolent communication between humans.

    You are invited to visit us, learn from us and help us in a variety of tasks, also children are very welcome!

    Hope to see you someday,
    Judith and Thomas

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Live close to nature, get to know the rural part of Austria, experience and knowledge in practical attempt to the land, using tools like the scythe and so on.....

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Around the cycle of the year, there are many different tasks where you can help and work with us. We are happy to include you concerning your interrests and wishes. A clear focus of our farm is the work with trees (fruit trees, woodmaking,....) but also the animals and the vegetables needs attention.
    Thomas wants to build a mongolian yourt, where also lots of work is to be done.
    But we are also happy about help in the kitchen and around the daily tasks in the household and garden.
    Soon we are going to make apple and grape juice.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay in our cosy waggon, which provides one or two matraces and in the warm season we can offer a big family tent. We cook mainly vegetarian with sometimes meat and we love to offer all our fruits and vegetables - depending on the season - from our trees and garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We don't smoke nor consume alcohol or drugs. Coffee is available!!!! ; )

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 127584622381